Artistic Avenger

New Baby, Part 2 & A Wonderful Surprise

2 Comments

I hope you enjoyed the baby girl card yesterday ’cause today is the complete opposite – a baby boy card.

The recipient of this card is very special. She is one of the reasons that I joined SU, although I’m not sure I’ve ever told her that. At the very first demo meeting I ever went to (with my soon to be upline), I was instantly drawn to her enthusiasm and talent. She continues to be someone I look forward to seeing at our meetings and who constantly inspires me with her creativity and all around positivity.

Okay, on to the card. I wanted to use colours that are not the norm for a baby card and play around with different sets so this is not a typical card but, I LOVE IT!

I started this card with the colours – not something I usually do. I used Really Rust, Tempting Turquoise, Chocolate Chip and So Saffron.

The turquoise layer is stamped with Itty Bitty Backgrounds and sponged on the edges and then adhered to the Really Rust card base. I stamped the boat from Nursery Necessities in Really Rust on some Confetti white cardstock. I coloured the top flag with my Chocolate Chip marker and also outlined the bottom of the boat with the same marker. I cut out the sails with a small piece of scrap designer paper from the Hawaii Papaya Simply Scrappin’ kit. I then used my Sharpie pen to draw in the waves and watercoloured them with turquoise ink and my Aquapainter.

I adhered that layer onto the Chocolate Chip and tied on some Apricot grosgrain around it. Under the ribbon I stamped “wonderful” from Wonderful Favourites in Whisper White craft ink. I then grabbed a set that I think is called “Think Big” from a mini a while ago and inked the word “news” in the coordinating markers, stamped it on white cardstock and punched it out with the small oval punch.

Off to the mailbox again….

As I was writing this post, I got a message that someone “loves my blog”. I was thrilled to see it was from MacKenzie Bruckler. She is awesomely talented and I am touched that she would send me this award! Thanks so much MacKenzie!

2 thoughts on “New Baby, Part 2 & A Wonderful Surprise

  1. Such a nice card. I love the color, they are such a different combo for a baby card.

  2. Love the bright colors! Great watercoloring and combining of stamp sets. I never think to outline images with a marker. Will have to remember that.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

