Artistic Avenger

Fun Filled Challenge

8 Comments

I was intrigued by Laura’s sketch on 2Sketches4U this week. Truth be told, I did do the sketch last week but the card was sent out for publication so I couldn’t post…..

Anyhow….for this week’s card. I recently got a big order of the new Stampin’ Up! designer paper and this one is Always – and it matches the Always stamp set! I love the colours too.

So, I also decided that I wanted the card to “do” something and I decided that I wanted it to hold a little note and gift card.

I did this by adding two coin envelopes to the inside of the bottom flap and adding a small piece to adhere a gift card to and a larger note sized card to write on. Click on these thumbnails to see that better.

Okay, now for the card itself. I scored a 4 1/4 x 11 piece of cardstock at 2″ and 7 1/2″ to get a sideways gate fold.

The bottom fold has a strip of Chocolate Chip cardstock and then the designer paper. I stamped a salutation and two cute bugs from Garden Whimsy and punched it out with my oval punch and adhered it to a designer label punch.

On top, I used my markers in Regal Rose, Pumpkin Pie, Old Olive and Chocolate Chip to colour the flowers from Garden Whimsy and stamped them randomly. I adhered that piece to a piece of Chocolate Chip cardstock and in behind that I added a layer of Pumpkin Pie which I edged with my scallop edge punch. I added some 1/16 punched holes for good measure and finished it up with a piece of 5/8″ Regal Rose grosgrain.

Thanks for a great sketch, Laura and I hope you had a happy birthday!

8 thoughts on “Fun Filled Challenge

  1. Carrie,
    This is really pretty, two of my favorites scallop & ribbon!
    Laura

  2. Wow! Your card is gorgeous!! I love the colors!!

  3. Great color combo…Orange is becoming a new favorite of mine.

  4. What a gorgeous card !!!

  5. Very lovely card. I love the colours and the tulips are so sweet.Thanks for playing, hope to see you next week again.

  6. What a darling card – I love how you’ve added a place for gift cards – I need one of those this weekend – my parents anniversary. Thanks for the inspiration!!

  7. Love the colors, and that is a favorite stamp set. Fantastic card.

  8. Really really cute Carrie! I love the color combo and the mini tutorial…thanks!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

