Artistic Avenger

3D on the Brain….

7 Comments

I wonder why….tomorrow is the big launch of 3D Design Challenge! Pam and I have been working very hard on this new blog and we hope you’ll enjoy it. There will be weekly templates and great challenges so please make sure you stop in to check it out.

For this project, I cased the great round flowers from the new catalogue, but in the example, they used felt flowers and in mine, I didn’t.

I cut one styrofoam ball in half and coloured each half with the marker matching the flower colour I’d chosen – in this case, the flowers are So Saffron and Chocolate Chip.

I used the Three for You and Boho Blossoms punches and affixed the punched flowers with little stick pins and a few with silver brads.

I added two large die cut blooms to the back of each flower.

For the stems, I wrapped some Artichoke Grosgrain around a simple bamboo skewer using sticky strip and the leaves are just cut out from Picnic and Spring Break designer paper.

There is a large foam piece inside the vase and I stuck the flowers into that before adding some scrunchy paper as a topper.

Lastly, I added a little ‘best wishes’ from Sincere Salutations as this is going to be given to a friend who is opening up her own kids bookstore – TODAY!

7 thoughts on “3D on the Brain….

  1. So darn cute! I simply must do one of these myself!

    Many Blessings,
    M.

  2. This is so neat and very impressive! You must be way more patient than me.

  3. OH this is so stinking cute! I like the one in the catalog, but I love yours. Good luck to your friend and their book store, way cool! I am sure she will love this centerpiece.

  4. This is stunning! Just gorgeous!

  5. Awesome, you did go with the pumpkin and olive. It looks great!

  6. So cute! Please tell us what size styro ball you used. Any idea how many flowers you punched?
    Love this project! TFS!

  7. Thanks for your comments and here is the answer to Michelle’s questions….

    I’m not sure what size foam balls I used but most likely no more than 3″ diameter.

    I also have no idea how many flowers I punched out. Remember, you are cutting the ball in half so the back is flat and you’ll only have to cover the front. So, let’s say about 50ish….

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

