Artistic Avenger

The Mad Adventures of Flat Brenda, Vol. 1

9 Comments

I rarely go shopping for paper crafting items at local stores as I try very hard to keep my products to Stampin’ Up! products but there has been the odd time that I’ve needed to (really, don’t we always need to?).

On this particular day, I met a great lady named Flat Brenda. She is also a SU demo and was purchasing “contra-ban”. We got to chatting and she was very sad she had no one to assist her in attending Convention this year. She has attended Convention in the past and has a not-so-secret crush on Jaron Winder and just had to get there this year to see him. Her quest was to get to Salt Lake City, no matter what.

This a picture of her outside the local store:

She is a very nice person so I decided I’d help her in her quest to attend Convention 2008. The only thing about Flat Brenda is that she is pretty needy. She immediately packed her stuff up and hopped in my car to come home with me. I told her it was over 2 weeks until we were going to leave but she just insisted. Come on, look at that face, who could say no?

We arrived home and she immediately plopped herself on my back deck with a glass of lemonade:

What I didn’t realize is that Flat Brenda always keeps a flask of vodka with her and was slipping it into the drink when I wasn’t looking. We chatted for quite some time about our favourite stamp sets and Shelli’s shoes and then she said she was tired (must have been the vodka). So, she took the liberty of going into my room and making herself comfortable:

The odd thing about Flat Brenda is that she sleeps with her eyes open – creepy!

So, tomorrow Flat Brenda and I will be leaving for Convention with a group of 20 other local demos (downline/upline/sidelines). I hope she gets along well with the other ladies – she can be a bit opinionated. But, I’ve lived with her for two weeks now, so I think she’ll be okay with me.

Keep watch for a daily installment of The Mad Adventures of Flat Brenda and lets see if she gets to meet up with Jaron in SLC!

9 thoughts on “The Mad Adventures of Flat Brenda, Vol. 1

  1. OMG that is too funny! Can’t wait to see the adventures you and Flat Brenda will go on. LOL!

  2. LOL! I must agree with Flat Brenda – I have a not-so-secret crush on Jaron also. ALWAYS make sure to get a pic of me with him at every event. Can’t wait to see more of Flat Brenda!

  3. She was in my bed? Well that explains the paper shavings.

  4. She was in my bed? Well that explains the paper shavings.

  5. I was laughing so hard about the vodka slipping and the eyes wide open sleeping — that is hilarious!!! Oh I can’t wait to see the adventures of Flat Brenda!!! Thanks for making me laugh!

  6. Carrie – you crack me up – have a good time at convention!

  7. What a hoot! Can’t wait to hear more! Not only is your blog full of great artwork, but stories as well.
    I am so jealous of those attending Convention! Maybe next year???
    Ilene B.

  8. This is hysterical!!! I just started subscribing to you !! (love the blog) I’m still giggling!! Can’t wait to see what kind of trouble the vodka drinking, eyes wide open, flat Brenda gets into at convention. Enjoy your trip!

  9. Who is this Flat Brenda & how did she enter your life?
    Have fun at convention! 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

