Artistic Avenger

My First (and second) Decor Elements Project and a BIG ANNOUNCEMENT!

6 Comments

I joined a local Decor Elements Swap (we each take pictures and swap the photos) for August. I wanted to do something a little outside the norm – big surprise, huh?

I remembered that I had this neat tray under my bed (its been there for 3 years) and I thought, now is the time to use it. So I grabbed some photos (they are a little old but thats okay) and some of those Die Cut Blooms that I had left over (LOVE THESE!) and I ran with it. Here is the finished project:

I used Picnic Designer paper in some of the squares and die cut blooms. In the centre square I used rub ons on Real Red cardstock and highlighted the “h” in Old Olive – as “h” is for happiness. I added the small happiness Decor Element in White to the top of the tray.

I plan to use this at workshops to carry around my materials so guests can see how great these Decor Elements really are!

Now for the second project…I was at the bank the other day with the kids and the teller asked if they’d each like a stainless water bottle they were giving away. And she offered one to me as well. So I took it. When I got home it looked so sad and plain that I had to do something with it….

I used the small Chocolate Chip Lollypop Flowers for this project. I used my hobby blade to cut the tops off a couple of the flowers for a different look.

And now the big announcement….

I love 3Ds. No, that is not the announcement. But I do! I’ve made some great ones that I’ve shared on this blog like this one, these ones, this one and this one.

However, I’d love to find the time to devote more attention to 3Ds in a setting different from my blog at Artistic Avenger. So I’ve teamed up with the uber-talented Pam Smerker at Paper Askew and together we will be launching a great new design challenge blog devoted just to 3D projects called 3D Design Challenge.

We will be posting challenges every other week and will have great samples as well as downloadable templates for each challenge. We’ll be looking for challenge suggestions and in return, we will highlight your blog. We are also accepting sponsors at this time and in return we will spotlight the company, their products and website and keep a link in our sidebar.

We hope this will be a fun and enjoyable blog experience, a bit different from what is out there now. So, come on by on August 13th when we will be launching our very first challenge!

6 thoughts on “My First (and second) Decor Elements Project and a BIG ANNOUNCEMENT!

  1. oh, i love both of your altered projects..way too cool!

  2. Your projects with the decor elements are awesome Carrie! That tray is just amazing. Congrats on your new endeavor with 3D’s. Can wait to see them!

  3. You’ve inspired me! TFS!

  4. A very clever girl you are! Love that water bottle!! Can’t wait until the 13th Partner!!
    Hugs!

  5. I saw you on Andrea’s blog and wanted to come tell you… These are sooo cute and creative! Wow! You have really great stuff!

  6. Keep em coming! Love these two! Will you share more photos of other Decor Element projects?
    Thanks,
    Ann 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

