Artistic Avenger

2S4Y #4 Challenge

12 Comments

I lurk.

I watch all sorts of blogs and their challenges until I finally get up the nerve to try one. Sometimes I try then and you never see them. Sometimes you do. Are you guys like that?

I’ve been watching 2 Sketches 4 You for quite some time now and I’ve done each and every sketch of theirs, however, this is the first I’m going to show you. Why? Sometimes I feel I don’t add enough bling, the colours arent’ right, whatever. The ladies who post to the site have such fantastic talent….

Anyhow, I did decide to post this one. Its simple and to the point but I love how it turned out and, to make it even better, this really took less than 10 minutes – okay, 15 minutes….

The card base for this project is Not Quite Navy (LOVE IT!). I decided I wanted to do very little stamping and use lots of designer paper. I decided to use the Spring Break designer paper as I love those big Not Quite Navy flowers.

This paper reminds me of the beach so I wanted the large middle piece that is supposed to go over each side to emulate waves. I know the sample showed a scallop but I wanted to do something different. So, I took a piece of scrap white cardstock and, using my 1 1/4″ square punch, made a zig-zag.

Behind that is a piece of Spring Break designer paper. I love the little dots and decided to punch a few out with my 1/8″ handheld punch. I put a bit of Pumpkin Pie and white cardstock behind some of the dots and others I left to show Not Quite Navy. I added a bit of Pumpkin Pie grosgrain to the top.

As I said earlier, I love the flowers in this pack of designer paper. So, I cut out the same flower in three different sizes and added them together with dimensionals to get a really neat flower which I adhered over the grosgrain.

Lastly, I stamped “wonderful” from Wonderful Favourites in Whisper White craft ink and added “friend” from the same set stamped in Not Quite Navy ink on some Old Olive cardstock which was layered in Pumpkin Pie.

Thanks for the great sketch, Laura! Go check out 2 Sketches 4 You and be inspired too!

12 thoughts on “2S4Y #4 Challenge

  1. I think all of your cards are fantastic. This one is no exception.

  2. OH ma’gosh! This is so totally funky! LOVE IT!!! Did you try out for their design team?? This is awesome Carrie!

  3. This is darling!!! Never be shy your work is awesome!!! We would love to see more at 2S4Y!:)
    Laura

  4. love the zig zag for the strip, this is so cool!

  5. This is just fantastic. I sure would love to see what you’ve been hiding. I love the crispness of this, not a lot of stuff crowding it up!! Terrific job.

  6. love the layered flowers from the dsp!…and the zigzag!! šŸ™‚

  7. I would love to see what you’ve been hiding too! I always do their challenges…don’t they have the most fantastic sketches? I have been thinking about this one but I found that overhang bit really difficult…you’ve nailed it! This card is totally AWESOME!!!

  8. i started watching them too! I love yours and very glad you decided to share! – thanks

  9. I like your card very much, the colors, the flower and especially the rickrack.
    Eveline.

  10. This card rocks!! I love the ‘zigzag’ on it.. so funky! šŸ™‚

  11. Carrie, great card. You’re very talented šŸ™‚

  12. Love your interpretation. The zigzags are perfect . I like that not quite navy cardstock too.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

