Artistic Avenger

A Little Holiday Cheer

5 Comments

I know, its a while till Christmas but I felt inspired to make a holiday card when I saw this week’s card sketch from Noella at Creatively Yours.

Also, I just recently got Punch Pals and really had to ink it up!

The base of the card is Garden Green and I made panels in Real Red, then Whisper White, then Garden Green. Yep, this baby is pretty heavy with layers.

I made smaller layers of Kraft cardstock and stamped them with the small snowflakes from Punch Pals in Whisper White Craft ink – I also sponged the edges of these pieces too.

Now, in keeping with the sketch and trying to use only one stamp set, I figured which images would look good in each spot. On top, I used the little presents and watercoloured them, punched them out with my 1″ punch and layered them on a Real Red designer label. I used my horizontal slot punch to make the side slits and threaded through some red gingham ribbon.

The next layer down has the salutation stamped in Black Craft Ink from All Holidays and three trees which I stamped on some Confetti White cardstock using my Jet Black StazOn ink and watercoloured. I used the masking technique on the trees.

The last layer uses the snowman, also stamped in Jet Black StazOn on Confetti white cardstock and I added a strip of Whisper White cardstock which I cut with my Cutter Kit on a curve. I added a little 2-way glue to the edge and some Dazzling Diamonds to mimic snow.

Great sketch, Noella, thanks!

5 thoughts on “A Little Holiday Cheer

  1. This is so cute. I love all the layering and expecialy like the three different focal points. Great Job…I think I’m going to have to order this set as well after seeing your card.
    So cute!!

  2. Oh this is soo cute!! Funny how we are starting to see a little bit of the holidays showing up here and there. This is really adorable Carrie!!!

  3. Wow, I love it! I think it is great that you did a christmas card..gets yah thinking that Christmas is really not that far away! LOL!
    Thank you so much for sharing your interpretation..hope to see more..

  4. Wow, i love it, it’s beautiful!!

  5. Love this card..great interpretation of the sketch..The little snowman and trees are too cute.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

