Artistic Avenger

A Tip for Tuesday – when trash isn’t trash!

11 Comments

I’m cheap. I think I’ve said that before. Some would say thrifty or reasonable, I’d say cheap.

So, when I have little ribbon scraps, I keep them. Recently I’ve been keeping them in a little jar but its hard to get my hand in there to get those little scraps at the bottom and so I have to dump it out and make a mess….its just all too hard for me. Really, I’m not high maintenance…..

Anyhow, I was cleaning up a closet and found this empty container that I’d had bought large alligator clips in:

So what did I do with it? I couldn’t just put it on my desk and leave it like that, so I decorated it to look like so:

I used a strip of Picnic Designer paper and some 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain. I added on some die cut blooms, felt flowers and rhinestone brads.

I am so much happier with this arrangement! It totally works better and it looks great!

11 thoughts on “A Tip for Tuesday – when trash isn’t trash!

  1. Brilliant! 🙂 Love this idea, and it turned out totally cute!! 🙂 TFS!

  2. I hope those are not what you call ribbon scraps! I keep bits much smaller than those – lol! Thanks for sharing this idea, and the re-use concept. So much packaging is useful in other ways 🙂

  3. Way totally cool!!! I love your trash to treasures. Thanks for the awesome RAK you are too sweet!!

  4. What a great idea! Love your creative ideas!

  5. OH what a great idea!!! I’ve got a couple of those containers around here somewhere. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Stampers just know how to think outside the clip container. That looks fantastic, I love how you reused something that would have been trashed.

  7. Great idea – I use the plastic containers (round) that CD-R & DVD+R come in – nice & sturdy and they come in several sizes (25, 50, 100) – lots of uses for them.
    NancyS (momsnack)

  8. Wonderful! Your not cheap,you’re wise!!!
    it’s beautiful!

  9. I bet you have the prettiest ribbon scrap container in town!

  10. You must be my kindred spirit. It’s called re-cycling or reusing a perfectly good item & repurposing it! Terrific idea, keep sharing all of your ideas!
    Cute project!
    Ann 🙂

  11. Great idea, I used for my ribbons the CD/DVD containers , but in the border I made a bunch of holes using my cropa dile and I put in it hole a different kind of ribbon, so they stay organized and easy to pull

    😉

    Sandra Douma
    Netherlands

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

