Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday (July 3, 2008)

2 Comments

A little late, yes, but here nonetheless!!

This week, I decided to move away from cards and onto 3D projects. I’ve been feverishly cleaning out my stamping area and found this great bundle of white (medium sized) lunch bags. These are a little smaller than the normal lunch bag and I wanted to use some designer paper to dress them up. In this case, I used East Coast Prep designer paper.

Here was my first attempt:

I folded over the top of this bag and wound some East Coast Prep paper around it. I cut out the centre of a large metal edged tag and adhered it to a chipboard star that I covered in East Coast Prep paper using some Tombow Multi Adhesive and sanded with a sanding block. I also punched out a small star in Real Red and added a Real Red brad to the centre. I stamped a salutation from Absolutely Fabulous in Wild Wasabi ink on wasabi cardstock. And then….

For this bag, I stamped it randomly with the happy face from Holiday Blitz using So Saffron and Wild Wasabi ink. I used a large alligator clip and covered it with East Coast Prep designer paper. I tied on a piece of striped grosgrain ribbon in Bashful Blue and made a tag using Its All Good and various circle punches. And then….

I wanted to make a traditional gift bag with this attempt. I cut a 2″ strip of East Coast Prep paper and adhered it to the top of the lunch bag. I added a strip of Real Red grosgrain along the bottom using mini glue dots.

I added jumbo eyelets to the sides of the bag using my Crop-A-Dile and tied some 5/8″ Real Red grosgrain through. I used a Real Red Die Cut Bloom with a piece of designer paper punched out using the 5-Petal flower punch and a Brocade Blue button as an accent piece.

I again used Absolutely Fabulous for my salutation but this time cut it out and backed it on Brocade Blue. And then….

Okay, I had to do at least one card.

I folded the lunch bag so it would fit on a regular A2 card and then added a strip of East Coast prep designer paper tied with some More Mustard grosgrain.

I added So Saffron eyelets to the bag using my Crop-A-Dile and added a piece of Bashful Blue cardstock as a pull out piece (I added a 1 3/8″ circle of designer paper to the top as well as a piece of Wild Wasabi cardstock and a So Saffron brad).

I used Absolutely Fabulous for my salutation which I stamped in Bashful blue this time and punched out with a large oval and mounted it on a designer label punched shape in Wild Wasabi. I then added the bag piece to a Wild Wasabi card base.

That was different for a Theme Thursday, eh? It was fun though and now I have lots of great packages for hostess gifts!

2 thoughts on “Theme Thursday (July 3, 2008)

  1. Very clever! Love the binder clip idea!

  2. Excellent! Thanks for doing this…it’s really nice to know that I’m not alone on a lot of these things.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

