Artistic Avenger

The Great Swap Debate

6 Comments

No, the debate is not “to swap or not to swap” – that would be silly.

I’m getting ready for Convention next month (yippee!) and I’m trying to get all my swaps done early. I’ve only got 2 organized swaps left to put together and I’m done. I am one of those people who plan and cut everything early and then assemble in steps. I plan to finish up while sitting backstage at my dance recital this Sunday.

So, what is the debate? What size do you like to swap?

There are two schools of thought here:

1. Make a regular A2 size (4 1/4 x 5 1/2) as they are, well, a regular card size, they fit into the clear envelopes perfectly for display.

2. Make a mountable size (4 x 5 1/4) as they still fit into the clear envelopes for display but are WAY easier to mount into full cards once they retire or you get bored of them.

There has been some heated discussion among our local demonstrator group so I thought I’d bring it here to see what other demonstrators have to say! Leave me a comment and let me know! Not only is this going to be interesting for me, but also for others.

Thanks and a creation is coming soon…..promise…..

6 thoughts on “The Great Swap Debate

  1. I say mountable size! We have actually started using this size when we swap with my group and it does make it easier when you want to mount it on a card base. I typically mount my swap after they have retired or get too many in my collection and then donate them to a charity.

  2. Mountable for sure! I mount my received swaps and give them away after they retire or if I have too many. I find that sometimes when you have to trim them down to fit it doesn’t look right or you have ribbon in the way of trimming. It’s just nice to have them ready to mount and share. 🙂

  3. Mountable all the way baby… makes more sense.
    I too often mount retired or old samples for door prizes and charity give-aways.

  4. I would cast my vote for full size – I always mount my full size card front swaps on Whisper White bases when they retire, and I usually don’t have any problems. 🙂

  5. Hi Carrie,

    I’d definitely say “mountable”, as they’d be ready-to-go to turn them into a card…instead of cutting down a full sized sample, or fussing with how to make them into a card. Hope you have loads of fun!

  6. Hi Carrie!
    I don’t understand why full size isn’t considered mountable! Because it IS! I do all my cards in full size and then mount them on white CS. I don’t use SU white to save on mula when I’m sending them personally or giving them away.

    But I definitely think full size is mountable. And then you save yourself 2 extra cuts on your cutter to boot. W/full size it’s 2 cuts to an 8 1/2 x 11 piece for 4 fronts. For ‘mountable’ size, it’s 4 cuts. Not to mention those little pieces that you have to decide… do I keep’em or throw’em?!

    Thanks for asking. I need to design my convention swaps here soon!

    Bobbie *Ü*

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

