Artistic Avenger

Sweet & Simple Sunday

7 Comments

I needed to created a card for my dance teacher (yes, mine) as this is my last week of dance classes. We have our huge show on the weekend and maybe, depending on how I do, I’ll post my stage debut later in the summer…..we’ll see…..Anyways, here is the card:

This card started with a Chocolate Chip base – I think that is my most fave SU colour.

I wanted to use Tart & Tangy from the Occasions Mini as it is almost gone! I coloured the apple with my Real Red, Old Olive and Chocolate Chip Stampin’ Write markers and stamped it onto some white cardstock. I punched it out with my circle punch and affixed to the centre of a small metal edged tag. I then added the tag to a Real Red Die Cut Bloom.

I had a scrap piece of white cardstock so I scalloped the bottom edge and punched 1/16″ holes in each scallop.

I tied some 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain around the card and stamped a sentiment from One Smart Cookie, again using my markers to highlight “apple” in a different colour.

Quick and simple yet striking, I think. If you are wondering what I do to write inside dark based cards, I usually add a 4 x 5 1/4 piece of white cardstock to the inside to write on.

Have a great day!

7 thoughts on “Sweet & Simple Sunday

  1. Love this card – it is really striking and bold!

  2. This is so sweet! The white scalloped piece is absolutely perfect with the apple image and ties it all together. Great job!!

  3. So cute!!! I love the apple on the flower!

  4. I always struggle with dark card bases and tend to avoid them. Thanks for posting that you put a white layer inside. Now I won’t always have to sign them with my white gel pen.

  5. This is so sweet and simple – I love it!! A perfect card to give to someone you think a lot of!! Thanks for sharing!!

  6. Ooh – I love this card! The colour combo is right up my alley. You should submit this for an SU! contest!

  7. This is super cute! Love it!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

