Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday (June 19th, 2008)

3 Comments

This week’s Theme Thursday came about kind of by accident. I’m planning a workshop for a hostess for next week and wanted to incorporate the Fresh Cuts stamp set and coordinating notes. I already had a card project planned and wanted to somehow get the Fresh Cuts notes on a 3D item.

I also wanted to play with a few more things from the Occasions Mini catalogue before it bids a farewell on June 30th. So, I had some Die Cut Blooms and Picnic designer paper on hand so I decided to use that.

This is the 3D that started it all….

This is a great little box to put a gift in and is super easy to make. I started with a 9×9 piece of Old Olive cardstock. I scored it at 3″ and 6″ and then turned the cardstock a quarter turn and did it again. I now had 9 squares measuring 3×3. I made a diagonal score in the four corner boxes and folded the corner in on themselves and stapled them. This was the base of the box.

I stamped the large stamp from Fresh Cuts in Bashful Blue on one of the Fresh Cuts notes. I then cut it down to 2 7/8 x 2 7/8 – just perfect to fit on the front of this box. I backed the laser cut flower with an Old Olive Die Cut Bloom and a piece of Picnic designer paper. I stamped the small flower in Pumpkin Pie and cut it out and then added it to the project with a brad from my Pretties Kit.

I took another strip of the Picnic designer paper and adhered it to a strip of Old Olive for the handle and tied a bit of striped Pumpkin grosgrain on it. And then…..

This is my fave project this week and when I started I didn’t know how it was going to end up. The card base is Whisper White and I didn’t want to add too many things as I like the clean lines of it. I had a square of Picnic DS paper so I used that. I added two large Die Cut Blooms on top. So far, pretty easy. I punched out a 1 3/8″ circle in black and layered it with a 1 1/4″ circle in Certainly Celery.

I then stamped the butterfly from Just Celebrate and watercoloured using my aquapainter and reinkers. I cut it out and added it to the large flower with dimensionals.

Using my Crop-A-Dile, I added two black eyelets and tied in some Black Gingham Ribbon. Lastly, I added a 3/4″ circle of Certainly Celery on which I stamped “original” from Art by Design. I then backed with a 1″ black circle. And then…..

This 12×12 scrapbook page uses very simple elements. I started with a piece of Pumpkin Pie 12×12 cardstock. I had two matching squares of Picnic DS paper and these two great pictures of my son eating a donut. Since his favourite colour is orange, it was a perfect fit.

I figured out where I wanted the pictures to sit and then placed the DS paper. At first I thought I’d make one horizontal and one vertical just ’cause and then I realized that I could write on one as my journalling space since it’s lined! So that is what I did. I added a bit of black gingham ribbon to the journalling block and to the other, I added the large circular rub on from the Anchored Rub Ons.

I had to incorporate the Die Cut Blooms somehow on this project, so I added a bunch of the textured circles around the outside edges. And then…..

I noticed that I had done a card, scrapbook page and 3D, so I had to make a tag to round out the group!

This is a 3 1/2 x 2 1/2 sized tag. The largest layer is Old Olive and that is layered with some whisper white. I stamped “my friend” from Blossoms Abound in black ink along the bottom and used my horizontal slot punch to punch a notch out for the Pumpkin striped grosgrain. I used my tag corner punch on the corners.

I used two different Die Cut Blooms and added a rub on from the Summer Days rub ons. In the centre of the flower, I used my Build-A-Flower Accents and Elements and a Build-A-Brad.

Well thats it! A different Theme Thursday but look, they all match!

3 thoughts on “Theme Thursday (June 19th, 2008)

  1. I just found your blog today and I am really excited about all of the great work you display. Your tutorials are wonderful. Looking forward to finding more fabulous idea here!

    Thanks for all the hard work,
    Jamie

  2. That bag is just awesome! Such a great idea! Love all of the other projects too!

  3. These are all awesome. It’s hard to choose a favorite. Your son is adorable.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

