Artistic Avenger

Inspired by Design

6 Comments

I have to say, I really enjoyed the design piece I chose for this month’s Inspiration Challenge. I loved the colours, the feel and the lines. So, with that, here is what I ended up with….

I knew I wanted my card base layered with white and black to represent the trim on the chair and on the curtains. I also rounded the edges of the card with my corner rounder punch as the chair in the inspiration piece is rounded.

I loved the celery throw in the picture so I did a little “faux tearing” to represent that throw. I’ve just taped a video tutorial on how to achieve this look so check back in a day or so for that one.

I also really liked the circular pattern both on the wall where the photos are and also on the bedspread. So, I stamped the flowers from Just Celebrate a couple of times and punched them out with the 3/4″ circle punch. I mounted them on black 1″ circles. I coloured them in with reinkers and my aquapainter and then added some crystal effects to different parts of the flowers.

I wanted a little more of a linear look so I took two pieces of black grosgrain ribbon and added them to the card front. I then put on a rub on salutation from the Cherished rub ons to finish it off.

Now make sure you go to check out Pam at Paper Askew Studio to see what she’s come up with!

6 thoughts on “Inspired by Design

  1. This is a stunning card!!!

  2. Just wanted you to know I did challenge #4.
    here is the link http://inkingaddict.blogspot.com/2008/06/inkspiration.html

  3. OMG this is absolutely gorgeous!! I love everything about this card Carrie! You totally rocked this challenge!! Wow!!

  4. This is stunning – you outdid yourself again!! I love the simple but elegant design!!

  5. Love the torn paper … great inspiration photo & wonderful card.

  6. Pingback: Faux Tearing Tutorial « Artistic Avenger

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

