Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday (June 4, 2008)

5 Comments

This week’s Theme Thursday is all about subtle colour. I used the following card in a recent Stamp-A-Stack class. This design was CASED lovingly by a stamper from SplicoastStampers. THANK YOU!

The original card uses Always Artichoke and River Rock cardstock and the stamp set Lovely as a Tree. I stamped the large pine tree first in River Rock and then in Artichoke. I cut the cardstock to 1 1/4″ in width and then added a salutation from Sincere Salutations. And then….

I love my Artfully Asian stamp set. I used to think it wasn’t very masculine but I’ve since changed my tune. I started with stamping the leaves in Basic Black onto the River Rock cardstock. I then took my Versamarker and coloured in random leaves to give them a different tone.

I did the salutation piece almost the same as the inspiration card using the ‘thank you’ from Artfully Asian and some Artichoke grosgrain to tie it on. And then….

This one was all about soft and subtle. I stamped the car from Thoughts of Father in Basic Black ink. I tore the River Rock cardstock and sponged and scratched up the piece of cardstock so it looked “worn”. I stamped ‘thank you’ from Wonderful Words along the bottom and added a bit of artichoke grosgrain. And then….

I grabbed my Wanted set and set out stamping the paisley stamp in artichoke along the bottom. I stamped the large large circle on the river rock and punched it out with my scallop circle punch. I stamped various circle images and punched them out layering them with dimensionals. I tied some artichoke grosgrain around the card base and added a salutation from Sincere Salutations.

There you have it! This week’s Theme Thursday focussed on limited supplies (really only three ink and cardstock colours) and quick and simple designs.

Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Theme Thursday (June 4, 2008)

  1. As my DD would say, ‘these are a beauty’. I might have to be inspired by these color combos.

  2. These cards are so elegant. I love this challenge and love your cards! Thanks for sharing!

  3. These are just beautiful. I love the River Rock and Artichoke together. Very nice.

  4. I really love your theme thursdays. The colors are great, the ideas clean and nice – thanks for sharing

  5. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again – I LOVE Theme Thursday! 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

