Artistic Avenger

Colour Inspiration Challenge

6 Comments

This was a great one! Kristina always picks such great colour combos for these challenges and here is this week’s:

Not Quite Navy, Old Olive, So Saffron, Bashful Blue and Whisper White

I knew I wanted to use a few things that I love: HodgePodge Hardware, Rub Ons and Designer paper as well as a couple of things I don’t use nearly enough: Crimper and Hemp Twine. I also wanted to use different “feels” – you’ll see what I mean! So here is my creation:

I started with a So Saffron card base and pulled out some Spring Break designer series paper. This paper is fun and “teen-ish” and I love it. I decided to use the two-tone Old Olive piece. I had a piece all cut to be adhered as a flat strip and then, at the last minute, decided that I wanted it on the angle – something I don’t do often – and I love the look of it! I added some Bashful Blue striped grosgrain over the seam of the designer paper using mini glue dots.

I still have a bunch of Die Cut Blooms and love the feel and texture of the textured cardstock so I grabbed a large flower in Bashful Blue and set out to find a cool centre for the flower.

I grabbed my crimper – one of the first things I bought but now rarely use and ran a piece of Not Quite Navy cardstock through it over and over. Then, I tore the two layers of cardstock apart to get a cool textured piece. I tore the edges a bit and decided I needed to use a piece of HodgePodge (HPH) hardware to dress it up.

Now, what to put inside? As you can see, I used something fun and light (designer paper and ribbon) and then I started to use some more “grown up” pieces (hodgepodge). I really like this variation of “themes”.

I pulled out my Cherished rub ons and decided to use the “hi” circle as my piece inside the HPH. I rubbed it onto to my textured/crimped piece and put the HPH piece over top it with mini glue dots.

I wanted to add a second “tied” layer over the striped grosgrain so I used my Hemp Twine and tied it into the HPH piece. I then added a small Felt Fusion Flower in Olive with an Antique Brass brad.

I looked at my almost finished creation and decided it needed something more. So, to tie in the swirls from the “hi” rub on, I cut out the white large swirls from the Cherished Rub Ons and added them to the Saffron layer.

I’m extremely pleased with my “fusion” of sorts – thanks for looking!

6 thoughts on “Colour Inspiration Challenge

  1. Love what you did! Very different with the angle!

  2. Great layout and love the different textures! I am so glad you had a chance to play along!!
    Hugs!

  3. I love the paper on the diagonal! The textured piece in the middle of the flower is a great touch! Thanks for sharing!

  4. This is so totally amazing. You really kick ass at the card making stuff!

  5. What a unique and wonderful card – the layout is just awesome!! Love how you incorporated the use of the rubons with the hardware too!! Such talent lies in your hands!

  6. Great card. Love all the layering and angles.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

