Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday (May 22, 2008)

5 Comments

Hello! For this week’s Theme Thursday, I decided to use a card I’d done at a recent All Occasion Stamp A Stack. I decided to use minimal supplies and all cards had to take 5 minutes or less. Plus, I need a HUGE amount of thank you cards so I thought I’d start with these. Here is the original card from the class:

I used an Almost Amethyst card base and layered with a piece of Elegant Eggplant stamped with the Print pattern background. I tied around that layer with some moss grosgrain ribbon. I used the same colours of ink for the blossom from Blossoms Abound. I used mellow moss ink for the leaves.

I stamped a salutation from Circle of Friendship onto some scrap amethyst cardstock and punched out the centre with the 1/2″ circle punch and then out with the 1 1/4″ circle punch. I layered it on a 1 3/8″ circle of moss. I added the small stamped flower to the centre in eggplant. And then….

I turned the card on its side and stamped the eggplant cardstock with the swirl from Doodle This and dotted the little dots with a white gel pen.

I stamped the large flower from Doodle This a little off centre and coloured in using my blender pen and inks. I added an Ice Rhinstone circle brad to the centre of the flower and stamped “thank you” from Artfully Asian in basic black. I torn the right side of the white and moss cardstock layers for a little extra dimension. And then….

I tied a piece of moss grosgrain around the strip of eggplant cardstock and adhered to the card. I used the butterfly from All Through the Year and used the “rock and roll” technique using amethyst and eggplant ink. I drew little flying trails with my black marker.

I stamped “thank you” from Artfully Asian in black onto some moss cardstock and punched it out with the large oval punch. I then layered it on a piece of eggplant cardstock that I punched out with my designer label punch. And then….

For this last one, I wanted to use One Smart Cookie. I got this set from the Occasions mini and LOVE it! And, I wanted to make this SUPER simple. I stamped the bracket from Sweet Celebrations in basic black. I then stamped the little bunch of grapes in black on some white cardstock and punched it out with the small tag punch. I coloured the grapes in with my eggplant marker.

I stamped “thanks a bunch” in eggplant ink and layered it on a piece of mellow moss cardstock that was punched out with the large tag punch. I folded a 3/4″ circle over the top of the tag and punched a hole through all the layers with my Crop-A-Dile. I then threaded some moss grosgrain through it.

So, there you have it! A warm and springy Theme Thursday!

5 thoughts on “Theme Thursday (May 22, 2008)

  1. These cards are awesome!!!!! And I just love the colors you used and that grape stamp set is now calling my name!!!!! Not a stamp set I would buy but now seeing your card I am liking it!!!!

  2. What a great set of cards! I love the colors and the simplicity of your designs! Very inspiring!

  3. I love the color combo. the cards are very nice and my favorite is the one with the grapes, I think that one is outstanding!

  4. I LOVE Theme Thursday – these are great!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

