Artistic Avenger

I was inspired – TWICE!

13 Comments

Honestly, I was pretty stumped this month for my Inspiration Challenge. I had no idea where to start from. But Pam, at Paper Askew Studio, always puts forth great creations so I had to pull out something. Here is my end result:

The only thing I had in mind when I started was the colour palette – Whisper White, Tempting Turquoise, Brilliant Blue and Old Olive.

I wanted to use the Fossil Stone technique on the background to emulate the water theme of the inspiration piece. Now, it may look like nothing much in my photo, but in real life it looks like water droplets. My favourite thing in the piece, however, was the leaves, so I made them my focal point.

I punched out some Old Olive small and large ovals and folded them in half and then ran them through my crimper. I took a small strand of olive cardstock, manipulated it slightly to “roll” it as a stem would. I added the leaves to it with mini glue dots.

I tied on some turquoise grosgrain and decided to corner round two of the corners as the inspiration piece had so many curves to it.

I decided to use the word “cherish” as the inspiration piece had a “c” in it. I used my designer label punch and oval punch to create this salutation. I stamped the word from Baroque Motifs in Ballet Blue ink.

Thanks for checking in and for playing! Make sure you check out Pam’s creation too!

And then, I decided to try the colour challenge on Kristina’s blog, KWernerDesign. She has such a great blog and I’ve been very nervous to make a creation and post it on there but I swallowed my fear and this is the result:

The swatch for inspiration is here:

Real Red, Pumpkin Pie, So Saffron, Old Olive and Tempting Turquoise.

It was a great challenge and I was so thrilled to use my new It’s A Sign stamp set!

13 thoughts on “I was inspired – TWICE!

  1. Both cards are super cute!

  2. Both cards are super cute! I love what you did with the fossil stone tech. Great Job!

  3. What a clever idea for leaves. Both cards great. TFS, Amy.

  4. WOW! Both of you cards are fantastic!! I love your stone technique, it really softens the card and makes those leaves pop! Thanks for playing along. Can’t wait to see your photo next month!!

  5. I love the road sign card. It is fantastic and very eye-catching.

  6. Those are both great cards. The second card is great and I love all of those signs….perfect for a birthday card!

  7. This birthday card is awesome and really makes want that stamp set even more.

  8. this is very cute and a really great card for a guy’s birthday!

  9. These are totally adorable! Your stem on the first one is just perfect and the stone background sets it off beautifully and clever use of the punches (they’re split and layered, right?). The sign card rocks! I’d have run away quickly if I had to use FIVE colors, but yours is brilliant. Love all the “little” touches – the piercing, the grosgrain, the little red brad anchors…fabulous!

  10. Great cards! I especially like the It’s a Sign ones. So perfect for a masculine birthday!

  11. Great card. I really like your design!

  12. Love those leaves! And great job with Kristina’s colour challenge – I never seem to have time between when she posts the challenge and when the submissions are due, but they sure look fun!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

