Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday (May 1, 2008) – It’s Irresistable!

7 Comments

This week’s Theme Thursday is a combination of design and technique – resisting. It started with this card as inspiration:

This was a card I came up with for a workshop a while back. The card base is Tempting Turquoise. The long layer is Taken with Teal and Certainly Celery. I wheeled the celery piece with the Garden Annuals wheel in celery ink.

I used the butterfly from All Through the Year and first inked it up in celery and then, using the rock and roll technique, inked the edges with teal. I used my hobby blade to cut the wings so I could make them more 3D (get that same hobby blade for FREE this month, ask me how!). I glued this to some Apricot Appeal cardstock, tied a little Apricot grosgrain and then that was it. Oh, I stamped “for you” from Happy Everything in turquoise ink.

So, the first in this week’s theme is….

I substituted glossy cardstock for the white cardstock on this project. I stamped the heart from Always in Versamark ink and sponged over it with some celery ink using my Stampin’ sponges. This is called Versamark Resist.

To finish up the card, I stamped images from Always randomly over the celery cardstock in celery ink. I stamped “always” in teal ink and backed it on a teal circle. I added a little 1/2″ circle stamped image in apricot and some apricot grosgrain. The sentiment is stamped in teal ink. And then…..

I stamped the image from Baroque Motifs in Versamark ink onto some glossy cardstock, sprinkled with clear embossing powder and heated. I then sponged apricot, celery and teal ink over it and rubbed off the excess. This is called Emboss Resist.

To finish the card, I mounted the resist piece on apricot and then onto celery and teal. I tore the bottom layers and added some ribbon. I stamped the large swirl on the card base in teal ink and “cherish” is stamped in teal as well. And then….

I stamped the image from Pun Fun on some glossy cardstock with my Jet Black StazOn. I took a crayon and drew around the image a bit and then sponged on some apricot and celery ink. This is called Crayon Resist.

I then adhered the image to the apricot square. I cut the teal cardstock into strips and added two to the celery piece (which I tore the top of). I used my Tempting Turquoise Stampin’ Write marker to marker up the “celebrate YOU” salutation from A Little Birthday Cheer and stamped – one word and then the other. The colour is way more vibrant in person.

Lastly, I added three celery brads to the right of the image piece. And then…

I cut a strip of whisper white cardstock to layer on the long teal piece. I stamped it using the Bud Basics stamp set in apricot, turquoise and celery ink. I then stamped the blossom and leaves from Blossoms Abound in Versamark and embossed using clear embossing powder. I then brayered over it with teal ink. This is called Emerging Colour.

I stamped happy mother’s day from All Holidays using my markers and then adhered to a celery base which I rounded two corners. I added some ribbon for good measure.

There you have it! This was fun and exciting to create and I hope you enjoy it! This would make an excellent class…it really is irresistable!

7 thoughts on “Theme Thursday (May 1, 2008) – It’s Irresistable!

  1. pretty pretty color combo! I really like the emerging color technique. I need to do that again. TFS!!

  2. Wonderful Carrie! They all are, and they always are wonderful! I really enjoy this feature…sorry I don’t drop by and tell you so often enough! These are very inspiring!

  3. You did an awesome job with this color combo. My favorite is the Emerging Color card, I’ve been meaning to try that one myself! Maybe I’ll find time to do it this weekend.

  4. I love this color combo but would not have thought of it on my own. Thanks for sharing all the different techniques.

  5. Love these cards Carrie – these cards really would make a fabulous workshop!! I love the emboss resist technique – haven’t tried that one – must do it!! Thanks for sharing!!

  6. Nice job with all the resisting – it’s “irresistable” ! Groan:)

  7. Awesome card set. Thanks for sharing more “mulitple layouts” ideas. I especially like the Blossoms Abound one.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

