Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday (April 17, 2008)

9 Comments

I’m feeling a bit under the weather today so I thought I’d make things easy on myself with this week’s Theme Thursday.

This past weekend I was at a wedding show and I had a small make and take area where participants could make an invitation and favour. Since I still had some cut, this was the base for my Theme Thursday. I also decided to do NO STAMPING on these projects and, instead, use the great self adhesive die cuts from the Tie The Knot Simply Scrappin’ Kit. Okay, here goes….

This was the invitation that participants had the opportunity to make. It is a cardstock vellum base which was folded down 1 1/2″ in the front to form a pocket. We just tied some 5/8″ chocolate grosgrain to keep the card pocket shut. The insert is made from Certainly Celery and Very Vanilla cardstock with a little strip of the Tie The Knot SS kit along the bottom and an embellishment from the same kit at the top. And then….

The favour to the front of the picture was the favour that participants could make. It is made up of a 3″ x 6″ piece of designer paper from the Tie the Knot SS kit and tied with some vanilla taffeta ribbon. We did some stamping on the tag using Together Forever and the 1 3/8″ and scallop circle punch.

When trying to use these pieces of designer paper I had to think about weddings and the kind of things you see there. I remembered I had this great vanilla candle and, lo and behold, the paper fit perfectly. I punched some holes with my 1/8″ handheld punch and wove some chocolate poly twill through the holes. And then….

This invitation is made from the textured celery cardstock you get in the kit. It is cut to 4″ x 12″. I did stamp the little circle from Always and punched it out and adhered to a scallop circle. On the inside…..

You can see that there is a vellum layer with all the pertinent information printed on it. I turned some chocolate taffeta ribbon over two of the edges as well it is backed on vanilla cardstock. The little pocket on the bottom is for a direction card or reply card. And then….

This card is a vellum cardstock base and I used some of the Tie the Knot kit items to dress it up. I put the very vanilla piece on the inside. And then….

Again, this is a vellum card base but I took the celery cardstock and put it on the outside. I used some designer paper on the left side and covered the seam with a left over piece of stitched strip from the SS kit. I added two 1/2″ circles with antique brass brads and then a salutation. And lastly…..

This is a gate fold card and it is held together with the 5/8″ celery grosgrain. Both the celery and vanilla cardstock layers are on the inside.

tip: when using self adhesive die cuts from a SS kit, if you want it not to be sticky, rub it with your embossing buddy or some baby powder.

In this case, I did the above with only half of that flower allowing half to stay stuck to the card when it is opened.

There you have it. A Theme Thursday based on the theme of the Tie the Knot Simply Scrappin’ Kit. Believe me, I could have just kept making projects with this kit – it is so simple! But, I must get some rest as I’ve got a busy couple of weeks ahead of me!

Have a great day!

9 thoughts on “Theme Thursday (April 17, 2008)

  1. Wow, these are all beautiful!

  2. Oh so elegant! That SS kit never really caught my eye, but I see it in an entirely different light now. Just lovely!

    Hope you’re feeling better today! đŸ™‚

  3. WOW! Even “under the weather” you are better than the rest of us on a good day! What great ideas… especially when you don’t feel like pulling your stamps out.

  4. Omg! These are just so beautiful and elegant! Thank you for sharing these! great projects đŸ™‚

  5. Very nice! I always love your projects.

  6. Wow, that grouping is awesome!!! Just gorgeous! Hope the expo went well for you!

  7. Wow – I so love your Theme Thursdays! What a great way to get creative with card stock you have cut already (I have a lot of that…). These invitations/favours are great – I bet the brides-to-be loved the ideas! Do you think doing the show was a success? I’m doing a similar baby show in June, and I’d love to hear any tips!

    http://www.stampwithdesiree.typepad.com

  8. Well done on these cards Carrie. I really love them.

  9. OMGosh!! These are spectacular….so elegant….wow.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

