Artistic Avenger

Inspiration Challenge – April 15, 2008

10 Comments

Well, here it is. If you’ll remember a couple of days ago I posted the inspiration on this post and Pam and I challenged each other to come up with something cool. I had an idea in mind from the get go but I’m still not sure if I captured what I had intended.

The card base is Wild Wasabi and the top 1/3 is covered in different sized circles punched out of Garden Green.

I then used my Cutter Kit to make some wavy lines out of black cardstock. This is what had initially drawn me to the little frog as an inspiration piece, the wavy lines. I put some Summer Sun cardstock in the middle of the “waves” and stamped it with Itty Bitty Backgrounds and dotted the stamped images with my white gel pen.

I did add a little layer of white which I sponged with Not Quite Navy and then rolled over the end to replicate the white collar on the frog.

Another part of the inspiration piece that I loved was the little flower so I used my Three for You flower punch and punched a little white flower and I put a More Mustard brad in the centre.

The bottom section is Ruby Red and I paper pierced around the outer edges with my Crafter’s Tool kit. I stamped the salutation from It’s Your Birthday in basic black ink and added three black brads to the far left to emulate the centres of the wheels.

Like I said, I’m not sure if this is the best representation of the inspiration piece but at the end of the day, I’m pleased. Now let’s see what you’ve come up with!

10 thoughts on “Inspiration Challenge – April 15, 2008

  1. Like it…simple and the colors are smashing!

  2. Like it…simple and the colors are smashing!

  3. or shall I say…the colors are “steeped”

  4. or shall I say…the colors are “steeped”

  5. this was a good challenge, because it was so hard! I had an idea in my head and not sure that I captured it onto paper. I will post my card this afternoon when I get home from work. I think you did a great job Carrie, really captured the lines and I love the polka dots! Thanks again for the great challenge.

  6. what a great card, I love everything about it.

  7. Wow – this looks like a piece of abstract art. It’s wonderful. BTW – I love your blog and gave you the Art y pico award this morning on my blog:
    http://www.newenglandstamper.com/my_weblog/2008/04/bad-blogger.html
    Alison

  8. Wow, how cool is this! I love the different shapes and lines!

  9. What a funky card! I love the bold, graphic element of the design and the fun colours – thanks for sharing!

    http://www.stampwithdesiree.typepad.com

  10. Whoa! So flippin’ cool!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

