Artistic Avenger

Whale of a Good Time!

6 Comments

I recently joined a Lots of Layers Demo Only swap on SCS. Please check the demo only section for more information as there will be one going for May!

I sent out my cards and wanted to post it here cause I was pretty happy with the outcome. There were lots of rules associated with this swap, ie. number of layers, types of paper, number of brads & ribbon, etc. I was pretty scared I hadn’t included everything but I think, in the end, I did.

I started with a Night of Navy card base and layered it with some Real Red and Whisper White.

For the waves, I used Night of Navy (punched with the 1″ circle punch), Brilliant Blue designer paper (punched with the 1 1/4″ circle punch), Ballet Blue and textured Bashful Blue cardstock (both punched with the 1 3/8″ circle punch). By punching the half circles in layers, it looks a lot like waves.

The final swap card has the whale done a bit differently but in this example, I stamped the whale from Pun Fun in jet black StazOn and watercoloured him in. I used some Crystal effects just around the edge for a “wet” effect as well I stamped the water above his spout and used the CE on it too. I nestled him into the waves with dimensionals.

I used some Going Gray cardstock and my Coluzzle to make the porthole and I added some silver brads to it as well.

I punched out the saying with my word window punch and layered it on some Real Red cardstock. Lastly, I added some red gingham ribbon along the bottom.

There are LOTS of layers on this, but it didn’t take too long with all those punches!

6 thoughts on “Whale of a Good Time!

  1. Absolutely brilliant! Those waves are totally clever and I love how the whale is just nestled in there, ridin’ the surf!

  2. I have never thought of using the circle punch to make waves – gonna have to try that soon!

    http://www.stampwithdesiree.typepad.com

  3. Carrie, this is fantastic. You’re so clever to have created waves with the circle punch and the port hole (is that what it’s called?) is an wonderful extra touch. I never really liked Pun Fun but you may be pushing me over the edge.

  4. That is so super cute!!!!!!!!! Makes me want this set…good thing my upline just bought it and we share! 🙂

  5. SOOO incredibly cute! I just love it!
    I just got this set so I’m going to have to CASE! 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

