Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday (April 10) – with video tutorial!

10 Comments

First let me say, this is the first week I’ve actually gotten my backside in gear and gotten this done early! Yippee for me….and you all!

For this week’s theme Thursday, I started with the following pieces:

I’d been cutting workshop projects and ended up with lots of the same sized scraps so I decided this would be my starting point. I also decided these would be single layer cards on a Whisper White card base, use soft sky/wasabi/pumpkin ink, and I’d only use the set, Smarty Pants. Yeah, I’m not making things hard today, huh?

And now for my first design (and my fave of this week’s theme)….

I staggered the strip pieces of cardstock and added a little embellishment to the end of each. On the textured wasabi cardstock there is a certainly celery button tied with linen thread, on the pumpkin pie strip there is a brad and on the soft sky piece there is a knot of double stitched ribbon. I used my ink pads and Stampin’ Write markers to ink up the saying from Smarty Pants. And then…..

I took my double rectangle punch and punched down the centre of a piece of soft sky. I then threaded a narrow piece of pumpkin pie through it and around the top I tied some celery grosgrain. I punched out circles of textured wasabi with my 1/4″ circle punch. I stamped just part of the greeting stamp using my Pumpkin Pie Stampin’ Write marker. And then….

For this card, I decided I wanted it to be a little bolder so I made stripes along the right side of the card with the larger strips of cardstock. On the seam I tied some pumpkin grosgrain ribbon. I used my ink pads and stamped the salutation from Smarty Pants three times, cut them out and adhered them to the card base. I also punched out a small star and layered the star with various colours of cardstock. Lastly, I used my corner rounder punch to round the corners. And then…..

I took one of the pieces of wasabi cardstock and made lots of little cuts for grass and adhered to a strip of soft sky. I then made a stem and flower – see video tutorial below, it is much easier to show you then to explain!

So, there you have it, folks! A group of simple cards just made from scraps!

And here is the paper flower tutorial!

10 thoughts on “Theme Thursday (April 10) – with video tutorial!

  1. I LOVE your tutorials! You do a fantastic job!
    these cards are goregous and so simple!
    THANKS!

  2. What a great use of those little strips I always end up with when preparing for a class! Fantastic cards.

  3. What a great tutorial. I can’t wait to try these flowers. TFS.

  4. Nifty ideas! I love em all! You are wonderfully clever!

  5. These cards are super great. They look really clean and simple and yet still have a WOW factor – not an easy accomplishment and you did it four times!!!

  6. 3 and 4 are my fav 🙂 I like your paper flower very much! I have seen a similar flower using hemp twine, but I think the paper is softer–great idea!

  7. OMG, these are freakishly CUTE! I love how simple and funky they are. you ROCK!

  8. That is a lot of fun ideas. I love the simple style.

  9. Pingback: Много ссылок на корейские сайты по рукоделию

  10. Pingback: **Рукоделие 2013** | Добро пожаловать на сайт Кулинария

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

