Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday (April 3rd, 2008)

13 Comments

Well, I have to think this is quickly becoming the most popular day on my blog but it is also the most work so I appreciate your patience in posting this so late!

For my inspiration today, I’m using the card on the top of page 140 in the Spring/Summer 2008 Collections Catalogue. View it here. You are going to notice a lot of different scallops edges in the cards to follow. In the next day or so, I’ll have a great tutorial on how I made them all!

Let’s get on with it, shall we?

img_4286-medium-copy.jpg

This card is a case of the catalogue card. The base if Groovy Guava with a square of Kraft cardstock. I’ve added a circle cut from my Coluzzle in Certainly Celery. The small Confetti white piece has been stamped with the little “ewe” from Pun Fun with Jet Black StazOn ink and coloured in using my aquapainter and reinkers.

I didn’t have the cool ribbon originals so I substituted a piece of folded over Rose Red cardstock which I faux stitched with my white gel pen. I added a brad from the Pretties Kit to finish it off.

I stamped the salutation on a separate piece of white cardstock and backed it in Rose Red. I punched 1/2″ circles of textured Bashful Blue cardstock for the edge. And then….

img_4284-medium1-copy.jpg

For this card, I stamped the little teddy bear from the Family Accessories in Jet Black StazOn and watercoloured him in. I used my tag corner punch to punch the corners and added some Bashful Blue grosgrain tied with Linen thread.

I used my scallop circle punch and 1 3/8″ circle punch for the scalloped edge and tied some Groovy Guava double stitched ribbon around it. The “adorable” stamp is from Warm Words. And then….

img_4285-medium-copy.jpg

This card is definitely different from the past two and it uses no white cardstock! The saying is from All Holidays and is stamped on the Kraft cardstock in Basic Gray ink. I also paper pierced around the top right corner of this layer.

I stamped the flower from A Beautiful Thing in Certainly Celery ink on the celery circle and sponged the edges. The flower is a Flower Fusion Rose Red flower. I stamped the row of flowers from A Beautiful Thing on some guava cardstock and punched one out with my Three for You flower punch and then put them together with a brad from the Pretties Kit.

I used my corner rounder punch to make this scalloped edge and the row stamp from A Beautiful Thing fits right inside, cool huh? And then….

img_4283-medium1-copy.jpg

A friend of mine is turning 40 in a couple of weeks so I thought I’d take this opportunity to get a card done!

The card base is Groovy Guava as is the stamped numbers from my Big Deal Numbers set. I adhered the celery circle just off centre the Kraft piece with dimensionals. In behind it, I added a strip of Rose Red cardstock and a piece of Bashful Blue cardstock that I scalloped using my slit punch. I stamped “celebrate” from A Little Birthday Cheer and paper pierced underneath.

I added “happy birthday” from All Holidays on the bottom of the kraft piece and punched out a half 3/4″ circle and placed a button tied with ribbon in the punch out.

img_4282-medium1.jpg

Well, there it is! Another Theme Thursday under my belt. This was a fun one and hard too as I don’t use Guava cardstock very often. Watch the blog in the next day or so for a great tutorial on the many ways you can make scalloped edges!

13 thoughts on “Theme Thursday (April 3rd, 2008)

  1. Great layouts and colors. Fabulous!

  2. Great cards once again!! You rock!

    Laura

  3. Love your cards. Theme Thursday is such a fun time to visit your blog!

  4. Nice job on these. I’m wasn’t crazy about Groovy Guava when it came out, but it’s starting to grow on me.

  5. Very pretty Carrie! I love these cards!!! Josee

  6. I love your faux ribbon!! These are all very fun and really cheery and happy looking!

  7. Beautiful cards-I’m loving the GG with Bashful Blue, so pretty! I’m looking forward to your “unveiling” of your scallop secrets. 😉

  8. Awesome, fantastic, wonderful, splendiferous…you get the idea! I’ve got a document where I did cutting instructions and showed several layouts. Do you mind if I add some of your clever ideas?

  9. Love your cards. The layouts are so creative and I just love the colors.

  10. Love these cards!!! Also love the idea of Theme Thursday and will be checking back often!!!!

    BTW….I added you my SU blogroll.

  11. Love all of these cards – thanks for sharing your scallop tutorial too – it’s always great to learn new ways to do things!!

  12. All of these are super cute with great layouts and colors. Love your video tutorial too!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

