Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday (March 27)

11 Comments

This week I used the Sketch Challenge from SCS as my starting point. It is a great challenge and I love a card that incorporates lots of different pieces – it makes these theme sets so much easier! What I did was cut each piece once in Blue Bayou, Soft Sky, Ruby Red and River Rock and mixed them up. So, on to it then….

hollo-copy.jpg

This first creation is the actual sketch from the challenge. I started with a Ruby Red card base and layered it with the large panel of Soft Sky cardstock and Western Sky designer paper. For the small band, I used Blue Bayou cardstock which I rounded with the corner rounder punch. I punched out a 1 1/4″ circle in Ruby Red and folded it over and stapled a little “friend” tag stamped from Everyday Flexible Phrases.

For the main panel, I stamped “hello” using Soft Sky, River Rock, Blue Bayou and Ruby Red ink and my Taffy Alphabet. I love these colours together….and then…

img_4166-medium-copy1.jpg

This card starts with a Soft Sky card base and the large Ruby Red panel is stamped with the paisley stamp from Wanted and dotted with a white gel pen. I took the long Blue Bayou piece and tore one end and stamped randomly with the large circle from Wanted. I stamped the salutation from Smarty Pants in Blue Bayou ink.

I stamped three stars from Wanted in Blue Bayou ink on River Rock paper and punched out using my small star punch. I adhered those with dimensionals and that was that. And then…..

flower-copy.jpg

I started with a Blue Bayou card base here and layered the bottom half with a piece of River Rock cardstock. I took a few random pieces of the Western Sky designer paper and make a patchwork of sorts. I tied around the top with some Blue Bayou double stitched ribbon.

I took a large flower from the Pretties kit and cut the centre hole a little bit bigger so it’d fit over the knot of the ribbon and then I added a hat pin and pearl/beads. Lastly, I stamped “thank you” from All Holidays in Blue Bayou ink. And then….

img_4163-medium1-copy.jpg

This last creation started with a River Rock card base which I stamped with the large circle shape from Wanted. I stamped the salutation from Smarty Pants onto the Ruby Red layer and then again on some Whisper White. I cut out the word “good” and adhered over the layer with a dimensional. I then punched the corners with the ticket corner punch and placed it over the large Blue Bayou rectangle to which I added some Western Sky paper. I used my Crafter’s tool kit to pierce 4 holes for silver brads at each corner.

On this card, I measured in 1″ from the fold and scored. I then punched out two holes with my crop-a-dile and added some ribbon for a different effect.

group-copy.jpg

There you go! I liked very much using the sketch challenge as my starting point – I’ll have to remember this in the future!

11 thoughts on “Theme Thursday (March 27)

  1. These are wonderful! I believe my favorite is the one with the flower from the pretties kit! Perfect cards to show off the Western Sky Designer paper!! Great job sweetie!!

  2. Absolutely fabulous! All of them are lovely!

    Many Blessings,
    M.

  3. This is a great way to show a lot of looks with a color combo – really beautiful.

  4. Great cards. I really like the color scheme. Thanks for sharing all of the ideas – really like that!

    Laura

  5. Love your cards. I would have to say my fav is the HELLO one. Love all the layouts and color combo.

  6. Love ’em all,they are each special in their own way!!! TFS!

  7. What fun cards! I just got the Taffy Alphabet so I will have to try that one.

  8. Holy rubber, Batman! These are amazing. Your take on the sketch challenge is different from so many other wonderful cards that I’ve seen. I really like your interpretation. The hatpin and flower is beautiful.

  9. Love your cards đŸ™‚ Lena (From Norway)

  10. These are all beautiful cards. Bayou Blue and Ruby Red look so wonderful together. I think the first 2 are my favorites but all are great.

  11. Nice job – I really like the colours!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

