Artistic Avenger

One Set Sunday (March 23rd)

7 Comments

I was feeling inspired last night so I got this one done early…..

img_4132-medium-copy.jpg

I used the level 3 hostess set, Time Well Spent for this card. As a demonstrator, I received this set for FREE from Stampin’ Up! This is one of the many fabulous perks of being a demo (sorry, shameless plug, I know).

My colour palette was inspired by the Flowers For You designer paper. The card base here is Lovely Lilac. I layered it with some Regal Rose and the Flowers for You designer paper. I knew I wanted some Turquoise and Celery accents but at first wasn’t sure what to do exactly. So, in true Carrie fashion, I tied the Celery 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon around the seam of the papers before really figuring out the rest. This is not always the best thing to do…..but I always do it…..

I stamped the large flower with Versamark ink on Tempting Turquoise cardstock and embossed using my heat tool and black embossing powder. I was busy doing a swap with the bleaching technique so I thought I’d give it a shot here. What is bleaching?

  • Emboss image using black embossing (or other) embossing powder
  • Use a small tipped paint brush and paint bleach inside areas of the embossed image
  • Let dry or use your heat tool to speed up the process if you are impatient like me
  • Use a colour of cardstock that is not too dark – you get a better effect

img_4131-medium.jpg

Once I finished bleaching the flower, I had to figure out how to put it onto the card. As I’d already tied on the ribbon, I punched out the centre with my 3/4″ circle punch and made a small slit so I could fit it around the knot of Celery 5/8″ grosgrain.

Now each of the salutation stamps from the set were too big and I was stumped again. So, I used my black marker to maker out the word “friends” and stamped it. I coloured in the letters with my Versamarker so the tone would be a bit deeper. I added a small strip of celery cardstock below the word and paper pierced a line as well to accentuate the text.

I’d originally bleached the little flower over the “i” but ended up not liking it so I cut out a flower from the designer paper and adhered with a glue dot. Lastly, I doodled a little around the Regal Rose side with my black marker.

I’m really happy with this project and the colours are very vibrant and happy on a wet and rainy westcoast day!

Happy Easter Everyone!

7 thoughts on “One Set Sunday (March 23rd)

  1. Beautiful card.

  2. Well done Carrie. I really like the ribbon popping out of the centre of the flower.

  3. Hi! I really enjoy your blog, especially when you do the variations on a theme. Love it! I hope you don’t mind, but I tagged you on my blog: http://perkypomegranate.blogspot.com/

  4. Great card and fabulous technique with the bleaching!! Love how you’ve got the flower center over a ribbon knot – neat idea! I’ve added you to my blogroll – I’m in group 1. Hope you have a wonderful day!

  5. You gotta love those perks!! I love this set!

  6. Pingback: Theme Thursday postponed this week - but heres a tutorial! « Artistic Avenger

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

