Artistic Avenger

What a challenge!

4 Comments

This week’s Colour Challenge on SCS was just that, A CHALLENGE! But it was one I wanted to take on. So, here goes nothing….

untitled1-copy.jpg

The card base is Orchid Opulence (who knew I even had that colour?) and it is stamped with the flower shape from the Always stamp set in Versamark.

I had a 3×3 note card in Kraft cardstock lying around and I wanted to incorporate this into the card. I cut a piece of Sage Shadow to 3 1/2 x 3 1/2 and mounted the 3×3 card in the centre. I used my slit punch to make a slit at the top right to close the note card and then tied it with some Kraft Taffeta ribbon. So in essence, this is a double card – a 3×3 note card on the front of a regular sized card.

On the 3×3 note card, I first stamped the heart from Always in Versamark and then again on some white cardstock in Orchid Opulence. I cut it out and mounted it to the note card with a dimensional. I stamped the bird in Sage and cut it out and mounted it with dimensionals as well.

I added a strip of Spring Fling designer paper along the bottom and a couple of Antique Brass brads to finish it off.

I stamped the celebrate stamp from Labelicious in sage ink on sage cardstock and punched it out with my rounded tab punch. I punched another tab out in kraft and backed the sage piece. I adhered this under the designer paper stripe.

After all the stress of this challenge, I’m happy with how it came out. I so would not have come up with this colour combo myself – but it is good to get out of my comfort zone, right?

4 thoughts on “What a challenge!

  1. I love that stamp set. You did a great job on the card.

  2. This is beautiful! I have such a hard time using Orchid Opulence, but it works perfectly for this card. I don’t have “Always” yet, but I need it soon-I’d love to case your card. TFS!

  3. I would have never thought to put kraft with the orchid and sage shadow. But I like how it works. It’s a nice affect to have the 3×3 card on the front of the larger card. Gives it a whole new dimension. Great job!

  4. Great card. Very pretty.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

