Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday (March 13th)

6 Comments

This week’s Theme Thursday is a little different. Instead of taking a card I’d used for a class or demo and reworking it, I decided to go with a product based theme. Here are the base products I used this week:

Carousel Notes, Die Cut Blooms, Sale-A-Bration Rub Ons, Picnic Designer Paper, Poly Twill, Silver Hodgepodge (from Occasions Mini)

All of these products (except the rub ons) are currently available in the Occasions Mini Catalogue which you can view here. Okay, on to the samples. Now let’s go one by one…..

6x6-copy.jpg

This is a 6×6 card which will fit perfectly into the wonderful Chocolate Chip envelopes included with the Carousel Notes. The base of the card is textured River Rock cardstock. The Soft Sky note has been paper pierced using my Crafter’s Tool Kit and the Pick A Petal Classy Brass Template. The flowers are made with the Die Cut Blooms. Between the Pumpkin Pie circle and Real Red large flower is a layer of Picnic designer paper that was cut using my Coluzzle cutting system. I used loops of Old Olive poly twill to add some extra texture to the flower.

Both the chocolate heart and words are from the SAB rub ons. And then…..

basket-copy.jpg

This is a little basket perfect for Easter. It is done using one of the large Chocolate envelopes that come with the Carousel Notes. I closed the envelope and then used my large tag punch to punch in from each side on the top and then I trimmed off a little extra and there is my handle. I then scored in 1″ on either side and the bottom and made a bag-a-lope of sorts.

I added the rub on from the SAB set along the bottom and tied a bit of Bashful Blue taffeta ribbon on the handle.

The flower is again done using Die Cut Blooms, rub ons and poly twill. At the very end, I thought it needed something else so I did a little faux stitching with my Signo White Gel Pen. And then…..

img_4118-medium-copy.jpg

This is going to be a door prize gift for our upcoming demonstrator meeting. I took a Groovy Guava Carousel Note and covered the bottom half with some Close to Cocoa Prints designer paper. Along the middle, I tied some Old Olive poly twill and added a ribbon slide from the new HodgePodge hardware kit. I added a little Old Olive rub on from the SAB set just above the twill.

Inside, I put a little bag of scallop notes tied with some more poly twill. For the little tag I used a Die Cut Bloom and put a rub on in the centre. But, what I did here is special…..check this out…..

img_4119-medium.jpg

I used my Versamarker to colour inside the rub on to give the little bloom a two tone feel. Neat huh? And then….

sbpage-copy.jpg

I had to do a scrappin’ project too! This is a 6×6 Bashful Blue Page with a strip of Picnic designer paper in the middle. I used my Pick A Petal Classy Brass template and Crop-A-Dile to punch holes around the outside scallop of the note. The Wild Wasabi Carousel note is adhered off centre and cut off and then I added a photo to the centre which I cut with my Coluzzle. I drew a rough circle around the picture with my white gel pen.

I used a white SAB rub on on a piece of vellum and then tied a piece of chocolate poly twill over the seams of the designer paper and vellum. I added a ribbon slide to that and made it special….

img_4116-medium.jpg

I mixed up some Crystal Effects and Wild Wasabi reinker and filled it in!

I stamped ‘friendship’ from Wonderful Words and added ‘celebrate’ from the SAB rub ons.

Oh, one more thing….I had to figure out how to adhere the other side of the vellum to the page without the adhesive showing. So, I took a chocolate rub on butterfly from the SAB rub ons and put it on the underside of one of the bubbles from the Build-A-Brads. I then put a glue dot beneath it to adhere the vellum down. See?

img_4117-medium.jpg

Well, there you have it.

img_4112-medium1-copy.jpg

This is a great group of projects to showcase these wonderful products in our Occasions Mini – give them a try!

This post took longer than anticipated so I know I’m almost on Friday posting this but I wanted to get it out there for you all to view! Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Theme Thursday (March 13th)

  1. wow! i love all of them but especially the scrapbook page!! What great ideas! Thanks for sharing!
    Amanda

  2. WOW!!!! My oh my Carrie, you have been a busy little elf. All of your project are amazing.

  3. Beautiful!! I love your work!:)
    Laura

  4. I am lovin’ these springy projects; esp. that technique you used to color in teh ribbon slide…kicking myself for not jupin’ on those right away!

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. Great projects. I loved the vellum and adding the build a brad bubble to it. I also loved the idea usin the blender pen with the rub-ons. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Hi Carrie,

    These are so beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing your talents!
    Alison

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

