Artistic Avenger

One Set Sunday – Butterfly Kisses

5 Comments

img_4047-medium1-copy.jpg

You may be thinking….who’s blog is this? Yep, this is SO not my style but sometimes change is good. The set I used today was Sweet Shapes. I received this set from Portland Regionals in my first year as a demonstrator and, I have to say, I don’t nearly use it as much as I should.

The colour palette? Really not my style either – but again, change is good (can you hear my new mantra?).

The card base is Pale Plum and the block layers are Perfect Plum and Sage Shadow. Both are layered on some Whisper White cardstock.

I stamped the square dotted stamp in Sage Shadow ink on the sage cardstock. I then decided to stamp the butterflies and cut them out. But, I needed to do something fun with them. So….I decided to use the kissing technique.

I inked up the first butterfly in Pale Plum ink and inked up the dotted stamp in Perfect Plum. Then, I kissed them together. I outlined it in Perfect Plum as well. I did varying colours on the other butterflies and then used my 2-way glue pen to outline them and add some Dazzling Diamonds.

I stamped “hello” in Perfect Plum and punched it out with the Scallop Circle punch. I adhered it under a piece of White grosgrain ribbon that has a piece of the new HodgePodge hardware from the new Occasions Mini catalogue – LOVE IT! You can view the catalogue here (Canadian pricing).

Before I adhered the butterflies to the card with dimensionals, I stamped the whirly image in Perfect Plum just behind them.

I finished and didn’t like the bottom so I added a piece that I’d punched with the retired wrought iron punch. Again, not my style but, what? CHANGE IS GOOD!

Thanks for looking! I’ll be away in Vegas for a few days but I’ll try to do some posting from an internet cafe. Don’t forget about me!

5 thoughts on “One Set Sunday – Butterfly Kisses

  1. This card is very cute Carrie! I got this set at my first regional as well and I don’t use it as much either. I love how you kissed the two stamps to get the polka dots on the butterfly…brilliant!
    Have a great time in Vegas…I won’t forget ya! Maybe a challenge when you get back 🙂
    Hugs,
    Pam

  2. This is just so pretty!!

  3. Cute card. I’d forgotten about this set. Maybe it’s time to dust it off a bit. Love the rest of your blog too.

  4. super cute! love the butterflies

  5. I just awarded you, check out my blog for making my day!
    Hope you are having a great day Carrie!
    Hugs,
    Pam

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

