Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday – for the guys!

9 Comments

The original card for this Theme Thursday came from one I’d done for a “For the Boys” class a while back. So I thought I’d try to keep with a more masculine theme throughout. Here is the original:

img_4028-medium1-copy.jpg

The card base is Sahara Sand with a wide band of Mellow Moss backed in Basic Black. I did a little paper piercing along the top. I stamped the Linen (now retired) background on a piece of Artichoke cardstock with Artichoke ink. I punched out a black tag and used my horizontal slot punch to make a hole that I could thread some Moss Gingham ribbon through. Lastly, I made a faux metal piece using the It’s All Good stamp set. You check this past post for more information on this great technique!

So, the first variation I came up with was…..

img_4025-medium1-copy.jpg

For this first card, I RAN and I mean RAN to my new favourite set, Smarty Pants. This set is just so cool. I stamped the Paisley background in Artichoke ink on some Mellow Moss cardstock and tore the edge. I adhered some black cardstock behind it and tore it too. I stamped the greeting in Basic Black ink on Whisper White cardstock and backed it on Basic Black and Always Artichoke. I added a 1″ punched out circle to the right of the block and punched a 3/8″ hole in it with my Crop-A-Dile. I then threaded some Moss Gingham ribbon through the hole.

And then…..

img_4027-medium1-copy.jpg

I turned the card base the other way and laid out the cardstock and it just kinda fell this way. I took my spiral punch and punched down the side of the black cardstock. I then threaded my ribbon through it (I thought this was a pretty cool look!). I took a piece of Sahara Sand cardstock and stamped the image from Artfully Asian in Versamark ink and embossed it using black embossing powder. I then ran down down to the laundry room and put a little dot of bleach on each “leaf”. I backed this piece on some Artichoke and Confetti white cardstock. I stamped ‘thank you’ from Holiday Blitz in Basic Black ink to finish it off. I really ended up liking this card and I may make a variation of it for a swap for next week….And then…..

img_4026-medium1-copy.jpg

Well with St. Patrick’s Day just around the corner and using a layout with lots of green, how could I resist? I adhered the strip of black cardstock along the middle of the Mellow Moss cardstock and tied some Moss Gingham around the top and bottom seams. I stamped the parenthesis from Sweet Celebration in basic black and added a few things inside it. First, I used a rub on (lucky) from the Anchored rub ons. I then stamped “U” from Taffy Alphabet in Moss ink on white cardstock and adhered with some dimensionals. Lastly, I stamped the clover from Holiday Blitz in Old Olive ink and added it on with dimensionals as well.

img_4024-medium1-copy.jpg

This was a fun one! Easy and basic pieces and, truth be told, the original came from scrap pieces of cardstock!

9 thoughts on “Theme Thursday – for the guys!

  1. What a group of lovely cards, the colors and layouts you used are wonderful

  2. Love your colour palette here! These are all magnificent, and I just love the weaving of the ribbon through the 2nd and the faux metal on the first…they are all fabulous male oriented cards!

  3. Carrie, Love the different cards! Thank you for sharing your inspiration with us!
    Smiles, Sheri

  4. What a great bunch of cards! love ’em all!!

  5. Love them all – I really do need to start on my St Patrick’s Day cards, thanks for the reminder.

  6. Awesome cards! Love the faux metal

  7. WOW WOW WOW — these are FANTASTIC guy cards!!

  8. What awesome designs! I love all of them!
    🙂

  9. I love the “guy cards” you did with me mellow moss combo. I’m still trying to perfect the faux metal and I will get it eventually. Your website is at the top of my favorites.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

