Artistic Avenger

Theme Thursday!

6 Comments

Well everyone enjoyed my Variations on a Theme last week so I’m going to make it a weekly thing. Enjoy! This week I was cleaning out all my old card packages and found a few from a card I did at my Christmas workshops this past year. Here is the original card (which I’m sure I’d lovingly cased from someone!).

sas1.jpg

This card features various circle punches and the retired stamp set, It’s Snow Time. Now, for this week’s theme I wanted to throw some up and coming new stuff from the Occasions Mini Catalogue. Why did I decide to do this? Well, for my customers – you should be receiving these in the mail soon and you’ll LOVE THEM! Or, if you have another demo (which I forgive you for…tee hee) you NEED to contact them to make sure you get a mini – there are some AMAZING products in there. The mini is good from March 1st to May 31st.

Now, I’m going to be using the stamp set Tart & Tangy with the matching designer paper (summer picnic), rub ons (A Perfect Day) and the die cut blooms. If you like them and want them for yourself, I’m hosting a class on March 19th and the registration fee includes the stamp set and rub ons. Check out my class schedule on the right tool bar for more information or contact me to place an order within Canada. Okay, now on to the cards……

img_3932-medium1.jpg

For this card, I used a strip of the designer paper (WOW) and I scalloped the Old Olive strip. I used various die cut blooms (which are textured) and added a couple of rub ons from the Anchored set to finish it off. Time it took to complete? Probably less than 5 minutes. And then….

img_3936-medium1.jpg

I used a different piece of the designer paper and tied around the top with some white grosgrain ribbon. I used the Tart and Tangy set and my Stampin’ Write markers to colour the apple and punched out with my tag punch. I used the large tag punch with some Night of Navy cardstock and added to the card with a dimensional. Then I tied on a bit of red gingham for good measure and added a rub on from the Sale-A-Bration set. Time? 5 minutes. And then….

img_3934-medium1.jpg

I wanted to make one a little more masculine in feeling and, after all, it is Valentine’s day. So, I used a strip of designer paper along the bottom and used the Old Olive strip just like I did on the original card – making different sized dots of Real Red and Night of Navy cardstock. Then I stapled some Navy grosgrain over the seam and added a rub on from the Anchored set. Again, 5 minutes. And then…..

img_3933-medium1.jpg

For my last one (I did four this time, not only three….I’m good!) I used the Olive strip as a backing for the larger piece of designer paper. Okay, have I said how much I LOVE this paper? Then I used various die cut blooms to make the flower and added a rub on from A Perfect Day set. For some extra “umph” I punched 1/8″ holes in the Olive bloom.

img_3931-medium1.jpg

Well, there you have it. Four cards – woohoo! The big challenge with this set was using what was initially a holiday inspired card and making cards that were not holiday inspired. It was fun and these were all very fast projects.

Got a suggestion for next week? Let me know!

6 thoughts on “Theme Thursday!

  1. My tart & tangy should arrive tomorrow thanks to the big brown truck – I AM SO EXCITED!

  2. How absolutely cute! Love them all but I think The apple one and the Hello one are my favourites! Great cards!

  3. Great cards,simple but beautiful! Less is more like they say!!!TFS!

  4. Great ideas! I love the Occasions Mini! The problem is that I want every set! AHHH!

  5. Wow I love all of these — so much inspiration!!

  6. Love these cards! The designer paper and the textured die cuts just pop out.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

