Artistic Avenger

Is it Spring YET?

3 Comments

I was playing around with little scraps of Spring Fling paper the other day and, wow, I LOVE this paper!

img_3925-medium1.jpg

The first card, on the right, features the stamp set “Unfrogettable”. This is a very versatile stamp set that I use a lot. It can be used for both masculine and feminine cards. I started by stamping the frog in Jet Black StazOn on some Confetti white cardstock. I coloured it in using my Aquapainters and various ink pads. I think I’ve said this before that this is certainly my medium of choice for watercolouring. I stamped and coloured in the flower the same way and used my hobby blade to cut around the fingers so it looked like he was holding onto the flower.

I used my corner rounder punch (without the guide) to make the scallop edge on the textured Pretty In Pink cardstock. Just above that I put the designer paper. I adhered to a Sage Shadow card base and tied around the seam of the two papers with a piece of Certainly Celery grosgrain.

img_3926-medium1.jpg

For the second card, I turned the card base around and had only a couple of scraps of the textured cardstock (which I hoard) and the designer paper (which I’m learning to use more). I grabbed some coordinating Stampin’ Write markers and coloured in the stamp from Sweet Thing and stamped it on some Whisper White cardstock. I matted it on some textured pink cardstock and some Saffron cardstock as well.

It felt bare to me so I decided to do some “faux” dry embossing and realized that the flowers from the Boho punch looked very similar to those in the stamped image. So, I punched a bunch out in Sage cardstock and adhered to the other side of the card.

img_3927-medium1.jpg

Fun springy projects, huh? I really enjoyed this colour palette. I’m really trying to get out of my regular routine here.

Oh, and thank you all so much for your wonderful feedback last week on my “Variation on a Theme” posts. And thanks to Debbie for suggesting I do this every week. So (listen to the drumroll), every Thursday I’ll be posting a new theme! If you’ve suggestions for colours or a stamp set, please let me know!

3 thoughts on “Is it Spring YET?

  1. Love the faux embossing! I keep forgetting to try this….it looks great on your card 🙂

  2. I can’t wait for spring too!!!! Love your cards,they are both oh so cute!!!

  3. These are quite cute! Good job!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

