Artistic Avenger

Variations on a Theme, Vol. 4

3 Comments

WOW – I’ve been a busy bee this week. Here is the original card from the stamp-a-stack. You’ll recognize it from a few weeks back:

img_3612-medium.jpg

The cardbase is Creamy Caramel and I used the Rough texture wheel in Caramel ink on the upper 2/3rds. I stamped the paisley stamp from Wanted in Really Rust ink on Really Rust cardstock and layered on some Chocolate Chip cardstock. I stamped the large circular image from Wanted in Chocolate Chip ink onto some Sage Shadow cardstock and punched out with my 1 3/8″ circle punch. I then layered it on a Chocolate Chip scallop circle. I added a star with a silver brad and then the ‘celebrate’ from Labelicious punched out with the Word Window punch. For my first attempt…..

img_3915-medium1.jpg

I knew I wanted to make the majority of this group of cards into man’s cards so I grabbed one of the few masculine sets I have, Text & Texture. I stamped the texture image on the rust cardstock in rust ink and sponged the edges. I stamped ‘just because’ in Chocolate Chip onto some Very Vanilla cardstock. I restamped the image on rust cardstock and cut out the “u”. I then stamped ‘thank’ from Amazing to Zany using my chocolate marker. I adhered to the vanilla piece with dimensionals and then added a Sage Shadow circle outline. I used my spiral punch down the left side and voila. And then…

img_3916-medium.jpg

This colour scheme lends itself to a nature inspired design so I grabbed my Lovely as a Tree set and some markers and went to work. I used Creamy Caramel, Really Rust and Chocolate Chip. I threaded some caramel gingham ribbon through the focal piece and added a little piece of hodgepodge hardware. I again used my markers to colour “original design” from Art By Design. I like to find new uses for stamp sets that are generally used for another purpose. And then….

img_3914-medium1.jpg

I wanted to make a thank you card from someone who took time out of their busy life for me yesterday. She is so great. I stamped the blossom image from Artfully Asian and then coloured lightly with some Sage Shadow and So Saffron ink. I punched out some flowers with my Three for You flower punch and added some Saffron brads to each before putting onto the card with dimensionals. I paper pierced along the top of the chocolate piece and, for visual interest (and because I made a mistake) I punched out a bit on the bottom and stamped the salutation on the rust cardstock from underneath. Lastly, I tied on some 5/8″ vanilla grosgrain.

img_3913-medium1.jpg

This was a very fun collection of cards to make. And, as the week goes on, the sets are getting easier and easier!

3 thoughts on “Variations on a Theme, Vol. 4

  1. I love your variations on a theme cards, they are all great.

  2. These are all awesome–all fantastically unique but so lovely together. I will have to try the way you did the ribbon on the third one.

  3. Again….I am sooooooo with Flossie…I LOVE the idea of your variations on a theme!…what an awesome class idea!!!TFS

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

