Artistic Avenger

Variations on a Theme, Vol. 2

3 Comments

Here we are again! Now this card was a Convention swap last year and I kept it knowing that I’d use it for a birthday card class at some point. Here is the original:

img_3903-medium1.jpg

The cardbase is Summer Sun and the layers are Real Red and Pumpkin Pie. In this example, I used Ballet Blue ink for the elephant from Wild About You. For my first attempt….

img_3904-medium1.jpg

I kept pretty close to the same layout as the original for this one but changed the theme for a baby card. I stamped the carriage from Fun & Fast Notes in black StazOn and watercoloured with Summer Sun and Pumpkin Pie ink. I coloured the little heart in with Real Red ink and added some Dazzling Diamonds for some shine. I sponged the white piece with some Bashful Blue ink for softness and added a salutation from Sweet Thing. And then…

img_3902-medium1.jpg

I swapped out the layers and using my corner rounder punch, added a scallop edge with the Pumpkin Pie cardstock. Using my Stampin’ Write markers, I coloured the salutation stamp from All Holidays and stamped it on the white cardstock. I tied the ribbon around the top of the Real Red cardstock and added a few Felt Fusion Flowers to finish it off. And then….

img_3905-medium1.jpg

I had this heart left on my desk from my challenge with Pam the other day so I decided to use it. I cut the strips into event pieces and made a patchwork background. I added a large vellum layer and then put the heart on that. I stamped ‘everything’ from Always using my markers and then added ‘you mean’ and ‘to me’ around the vellum layer. Not your typical Valentine’s colours but it’ll do!

img_3901-medium1.jpg

So there you have it – four fun and bright cards for various occasions. Remember, if you are cutting one, why not cut two? or three? or four?

3 thoughts on “Variations on a Theme, Vol. 2

  1. These variations on a theme are great! I love the colors that you are using, and keeping all the cards in the same colors is so visually appealing to me! The layouts are great – thanks so much for sharing them!

  2. These cards are great and what a wonderful way to use the various pieces of paper that you get when cutting mats and such. Thanks.

  3. Super ideas!!!…Love having the variations of the theme!!…TFS

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

