Artistic Avenger

Variations on a Theme – Vol. 1

8 Comments

So last week I had a Birthday Stamp-A-Stack and I had one package left over. I always say I’m going to do something with them and I never do. Until NOW! This week, each day I’ll post the card I did for the class and another 3 using up the supplies. So, without further ado…..

img_3900-medium1.jpg

Here is the card my class attendees made. It was cased from a swap I received at an event (but I switched out the stamp sets). I used River Rock, Soft Sky and Whisper White cardstock, some River Rock ribbon and the stamp sets Fun & Fast Notes and A Little Birthday Cheer. I only used Basic Black ink and we used blender pens to colour the cake (River Rock and Soft Sky). We also added a little glitter to the candles.

And then I made….

img_3899-medium1.jpg

This card uses the same layout but different stamps. I stamped the stars from Background Basics down the left side. The main image is from So Many Scallops – which you can earn for FREE during Sale-A-Bration! It is stamped in Soft Sky ink. I stamped it again in Barely Banana ink on the same cardstock and cut out the moon and adhered. Then I stamped it again in River Rock on the same cardstock and cut out the ‘sweet one’. I added ‘congratulations’ from Hugs & Wishes in River Rock ink to top it off. And then…..

img_3898-medium1.jpg

I pulled out my only retired stamp set that I’ve kept – On Ice. As a Canadian, how can I not have a hockey set? And, today is my brother’s birthday so there you have it. I turned this one on it’s side but kept basically the same layout. I stamped the hockey player in basic black ink and then I stamped the helmet/stick combo on River Rock and Soft Sky ink. I punched out the helmet with the 1″ circle punch and the then with the designer label punch. I backed it all with a 1 3/8″ black circle and added some ribbon. And then…..

img_3897-medium1.jpg

I changed this one out the most. I stamped the butterfly from Happy Heart Day on the Soft Sky piece and added a Text and Texture background in River Rock on the white piece. I stamped the butterfly from All Through the Year in Soft Sky ink once on the textured background and again on a piece of scrap white cardstock. I cut it out and adhered over the stamped one with dimensionals. Why? Cause I was too lazy to cut out the antennae and this way I didn’t have to. Lastly, I stamped ‘cherish’ from Warm Words in River rock ink.

img_3896-medium1.jpg

So there you have it. Use up those scraps or just try to make two cards from the exact same layout. You’ll be thrilled with the results!

8 thoughts on “Variations on a Theme – Vol. 1

  1. these are great love the color combo and it goes great with all card themes.

  2. What a great inspiration! I’m off to use my scraps 🙂

  3. Sweet and simple! I really love the idea of using the same colors, and then just swapping out the stamps and adjusting the layout. It would really simplify the process of creating a variety of different cards at one sitting. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Really like the variations with these cards.

  5. Super cute! I need to do this with my left overs as well! You have inspired me…thanks!

  6. Oh wow,those are really nice,great sketch for any type of card!! TFS!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

