Artistic Avenger

I ‘heart’ Challenges

2 Comments

I received a challenge from my blog-friend, Pam. If you haven’t checked out her blog, you totally should!

She challenged me to use a heart in my design and the following colours: Real Red, Pumpkin Pie, Bashful Blue and Always Artichoke. Little did she know that most of these are my favourite colours! Here is what I came up with:

img_3884-medium1.jpg

I started with my newest set, Always, which I received at the Manager’s Reception at Leadership. Love, love, love this set!

The card base is Always Artichoke and I folded the right side in a bit as you would if you were making a pocket card. I added a strip of Bashful Blue to the inside of the card and I stamped the solid flower from Always in the bottom left corner. On the front of the flap I added some Pumpkin Pie designer paper.

For the focal piece, I stamped the large heart from Always in Whisper White ink on Real Red cardstock. I then did the same again on another piece and embossed it with clear embossing powder. I cut it out and adhered to the other stamped heart with some dimensionals. I rolled up the corners of the real red piece for dimension.

I punched a half circle out of the left side of the real red piece with my 1 3/8″ circle punch. I then grabbed my Stampin’ Write markers and coloured in the always stamp with my Real Red and Always Artichoke markers. I stamped it on some Whisper White cardstock and punched it out with my 1 1/4″ circle punch. I layered it on a Pumpkin Pie 1 3/8″ circle and then on a Bashful Blue scallop circle. While I had my markers out, I coloured the “always on my mind, forever in my heart” stamp but only used a few of the words. I cut them out and adhered them to the heart.

Lastly, I knew I had to use some ribbon so I punched a 1/8″ hole at the top of the heart and tied some ribbon around the front of the card and through the hole and tied it at the top.

This was a truly fun project and I enjoyed the challenge. I’m making another project to go with this….stay tuned!

So Pam, I’m challenging you to make a coordinating 3D project to match this card!

2 thoughts on “I ‘heart’ Challenges

  1. Great card! Love all the colors and the lo is great!

  2. WOW this is just gorgeous — love your color choices!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

