Artistic Avenger

Recycled Wonder Project

5 Comments

So, a while ago I started asking everyone I knew to keep their used up ribbon spools. They didn’t know why. I had this idea in my head and at first wasn’t sure how it would work, exactly, but I wanted to try. You see, at Leadership, I like to do a “business-like” swap and this is a great hostess gift for a scrapbooker!

img_3616-medium1.jpg

Introducing, my Scrapbooking Inspiration Wheel!

As you may or may not see from the picture, I’ve used one layer of the cardboard from the ribbon spool and the plastic centre. I cut out a Mellow Moss piece of cardstock (the largest from the Coluzzle cutting system). This covers the cardboard circle perfectly.

img_3618-medium1.jpg

How did I start this? I played around with Excel and made a pie shaped chart for the inside with all kinds of different inspiration ideas to get a scrap page started. Then I printed it on Very Vanilla cardstock and cut it out and adhered to the cardboard circle.

img_3620-medium1.jpg

Next? I cut the centre of the wheel out with the smallest hole of the Coluzzle. I had to cut a wee bit extra to get it around the plastic centre piece. I cut the same size circle out of the centre of the Moss circle and rested it on top of the vanilla piece. Oh, I stamped it with a flower from Bud Basics first. Sometimes it is hard to describe my process….bear with me please.

The next step was the hardest for me. I had to find a way for the moss piece to be able to spin around the plastic piece. I couldn’t close it too hard or it wouldn’t turn. I knew I wanted a flower like centre piece and then it dawned on me!

Here is what I did. I punched out two Ruby Red 1 3/8″ circles and punched a double rectangle in both. I stamped the flower from Labelicious in Ruby Red on vanilla cardstock, punched it out with a 1 1/4″ circle and double rectangle. I threaded the ribbon up through the bottom circle up through the top and tied it. That way, there was enough tension to keep it together but lax enough for the moss piece to move. Make sense? Here is a photo….

img_3619-medium1.jpg

I finished it off with a little 3/4″ circle stamped with the word “stamp” from Everyday Flexible Phrases. I hope this goes over well. It is most certainly a different type of project but I think sometimes those are the best.

5 thoughts on “Recycled Wonder Project

  1. You’re brilliant! I know we were all curious to see what you were going to do.

    PS Thanks for the baby card – it was so sweet of you to send it. Hopefully I’ll be able to make it to the April meeting and you can meet the Bean.

  2. What a fantastic project! Thanks for sharing the information.
    Barb g

  3. Too clever! You could make these for all kinds of things. I am going to try them out. Great idea!

  4. This is fabulous Carrie – what a great idea! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Carrie,
    Brilliant, way to think outside the box!! Thanks for sharing!! I love listening to your demos!!
    Julie

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

