Artistic Avenger

Cleaning up the Desk

Leave a comment

I’m off in a day and a bit to Palm Springs for Leadership (and I just saw an ad on Entertainment Tonight about the film festival there right now and maybe I’ll see some stars!). I’ve got a few last minute things to finish up before I can go. Here is one quick project I should have completed months ago but just got around to….

img_3621-medium.jpg

What is this? Well, it’s a picture frame for my hubby’s desk. He is opening up his own shop and wanted a small picture frame to put the kids school pictures in. Quite some time ago I found this awesome dollar store and I got lots of trading card holders. These ones are VERY heavy duty. They hold a 2 1/2 x 3 1/2 card perfectly.

I started with some Bashful Blue cardstock which I stamped with the paisley stamp from Wanted. I sponged the edges to give it a weathered look. On the inside, I adhered the kids pictures.

The star is covered with some retired Outlaw designer paper – it is the only thing I had on hand that worked! I stamped ‘happy’ from It’s All Good in chocolate chip ink on some white cardstock and punched it out with a 1 1/4″ circle punch. I layered it with a Really Rust circle. I stamped ‘family’ from Everyday Flexible Phrases on some bashful cardstock and stuck it on.

I wasn’t sure how I was going to hinge the two card holders and I decided to go with two chocolate small ovals. I used sticky strip to adhere and it opens just perfectly.

img_3622-medium.jpg

Now he can have this on his desk and we can change out the pictures every year! And, this is a good reminder of what is waiting at home for him too!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

