Artistic Avenger

A Quick (and much needed) Challenge

Leave a comment

img_3612-medium.jpg

So this week’s Limited Supply challenge on SCS was to make a card using no white or vanilla cardstock. I needed this. I’m in the throws of putting together a birthday Stamp-a-stack for Jan 30th (check out my demo site for more info if you are local) and needed to make a man’s card. For the birthday SAS classes, I like to do one that is kid specific, one that is female specific, one male specific and two designs that are ‘gender-neutral’.

So, I had pulled out some cardstock and my Wanted stamp set but needed to be nudged to get this done before leaving for Palm Springs on Tuesday. Oh, speaking of Palm Springs, if any other demos are arriving early, a few of us are getting there on the 8th in the daytime, wanna do dinner? We are staying at the Wyndham, email me if you want to! And, like last year, I’ll be posting one of my swaps and up-to-date info as often as I can while I’m away.

Anyhow, back to the card….

I started with a Creamy Caramel card base and I wheeled the top in caramel ink using my Rough Texture Wheel. This was my hubby’s idea, actually. He “loves” this wheel. His words, not mine.

I made a Rust strip which was stamped with the Paisley stamp in rust ink and sponged the edges. I find that sponging and texturizing really makes a man’s card. I layered it on some Chocolate Chip and tore the bottom edge.

I punched out a scallop circle in Chocolate Chip and then stamped the large circular image in chocolate ink on Sage Shadow cardstock. I punched the centre out with the 1 3/8″ circle punch. Lastly, I stamped the star on some rust cardstock in chocolate ink and punched it out with the small star punch. I added a silver brad and put it all together with dimensionals.

Lastly, I stamped the ‘celebrate’ stamp from Labelicious and punched out just the words using my word window punch.

This is quick and simple and I love it.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

