Artistic Avenger

All About Accents

5 Comments

So this morning I thought I’d bring to the forefront a couple of products I love but find hard to use – Accents and Elements, HodgePodge Hardware and Build a Brads. Why do I find them hard to use? Cause I don’t want to run out!

img_3592-medium1.jpg

Here are all the products I started with. I grabbed some Cutie Pie designer paper cause it matches the Build a Flower A&E so well.

img_3593-medium1.jpg

This card is 3×6 size. I started with a scrap strip of Cutie Pie and paper pierced some holes along the bottom. I then threaded some linen thread through the holes. I started then with my first of the A&E pieces, a large Rose Red flower. I just peeled and stuck it on the card.

img_3594-medium1.jpg

Next, I wanted to add a Bashful Blue flower but I wanted to add a dimensional behind it. How to do that? Just grab your embossing buddy or some baby powder and pat it on the back of the sticky A&E piece. Then you can add a dimensional and voila….

img_3595-medium1.jpg

Now on to the build a brad piece. I put a Wasabi flower on the top and then flipped it over. I pulled out the back pieces to each side like so….

img_3597-medium1.jpg

Then grabbed my pliers from my Crafter’s tool kit and cut them off like so….

img_3598-medium1.jpg

Then add a pop up glue dot to the back like so and add a piece of hodge podge hardware….

img_3600-medium1.jpg

Then, just add a mini glue dot and add it to your project. No one will ever know the build a brad didn’t come like that!

Lastly, I added the salutation from A Sweet Thing in Basic Gray ink and there you have it. Now, pull those pieces out and give it a try!

img_3601-medium1.jpg

5 thoughts on “All About Accents

  1. This card is great, know what you mean about hoarding embellishment and such, but my 2008 resolutuion is to USE THEM UP. Have a Wonderful New Year.

  2. I know what you mean about hoarding – I do that, too! I love that card and especially what you did with the brad and clip, very clever!

  3. really lovely card, great bonus that you managed to use some stuff : ) happy new year!

  4. This is wonderful Carrie! You are so creative…love what you did with the Build a Brad…very cool idea…very cool card!

  5. Wow! Great tips – especially about making the A & E flowers non-sticky so you can add dimensionals! Thanks so much for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

