Artistic Avenger

I’m so Challenged

4 Comments

img_3549-medium.jpg

Well, I finally got up early enough to work on some of my Leadership swaps and to do a SCS Colour Challenge. This week’s challenge is to use So Saffron, Elegant Eggplant and Wild Wasabi. Off to the races.

At first, I tried to figure out a way to make these colours into a holiday card but nixed that idea so I then chose to use a set that lies pretty dormant in my stamp shelves – Be Happy. Yes, I could have used some new wonderful rubber from the NEW AMAZING CATALOGUE (which I got yesterday) but I decided to use someone who needed some love and attention.

What I’m really jazzed about are the samples from the new catty and wanted to make one that was simple in design, as most of them are, but has a little extra punch to it.

I started with a Wild Wasabi card base and did nothing to it. Yep, nothing. I added a strip of Eggplant cardstock and paper pierced two lines along the top. Thats it. I was really tempted to add a background here but held back…

flower.jpg

For the main piece of the card, I stamped the large flower in Eggplant ink onto white cardstock and cut it out. I mounted that onto a scallop circle punched out of Wasabi cardstock. I stamped the smile stamp in So Saffron onto some white cardstock and punched it out with a 1 1/4″ circle punch. I was then going to stamp a salutation from Circle of Friendship right on top but decided to do something a wee bit different here.

I stamped the salutation circle onto a window sheet using some StazOn ink and punched it out.

TIP: The best way to punch out window or acetate sheets is to punch it with some cardstock at the same time.

I stamped another one of the circle salutations on some Wasabi cardstock and punched out just the centre with the 1/2″ circle punch. I took this and put it with an Antique Brass build-a-brad and adhered all the circles together and then onto the flower with a dimensional.

Lastly, I took my square of Saffron prints designer paper and sponged the edges of the other side of the paper. I did this so when I folded in the corners, you’d see a little more distressing. Good, huh? I punched with my double rectangle punch to make a place for some double stitched Wasabi ribbon to go through, tied it off and voila! Now, you I did make my double rectangle longer by punching it first and then “overpunching” to make the holes a bit wider so the ribbon didn’t bunch all up and look silly.

Thanks for looking and thanks for being so patient with my lack of posts lately. I’ve finished baking, decorating, wrapping, shopping and now I’m good to be challenged over the holidays!

4 thoughts on “I’m so Challenged

  1. Beautiful job on the color challenge!

    M.

  2. Beautiful Card. Great detail. Loved it.

  3. Great card! I love EVERYTHING!!!

  4. Thanks for the great tip on punching acetate, i will surely have to try that!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

