Artistic Avenger

So Long, Farewell….

5 Comments

Can you just hear those VonTrapp kids singing everytime you hear that?

It is DECEMBER! Yippee! And, to celebrate it snowed overnight! It’s not even 8am here and the kids are already asking, “can we go outside yet”? Nope, not till mommy drinks her tea kiddos (I really need it in the morning).

It is also the time for Stampin’ Up! to release it’s retirement list. Yes, there are some great sets leaving us this year. Click on this link to see what is going to be GONE as of January 1st!

In honour of one of the retiring sets, I thought I’d share a sample I did for a recent swap.

img_3461-medium.jpg

This card uses It’s Snow Time – which is retiring (kinda sad about this one….). I’m only losing 7 sets (plus 5 hostess sets) so I’m not too hard up this time around….

Back to the card….started with a Kraft card base and added a torn and distressed piece of Old Olive on the bottom. The tag piece is layered with Real Red, Old Olive, Night of Navy and Naturals Ivory. I punched the corners with the tag corner punch.

I stamped the snowman onto some scrap paper and cut him out to use as a ‘mask’. I stamped the snowman onto the tag piece (on an angle) and covered him with the mask. Then, I then held the Ivory tag piece over the card base and started to stamp the trees with some Jet Black StazOn.

I coloured the snowman with various colours of reinker and my aquapainter and used the white gel pen for accents.

Lastly, I added some wide Real Red grosgrain and a brad and added the tag on with some dimensionals.

Enjoy reading up on the retiring stamp sets! Remember, December 10th will bring the retiring accessories list!

5 thoughts on “So Long, Farewell….

  1. I am shocked to see this set go!! Lovely card!!

  2. This is such a cute card! I love the Kraft paper! I’m a little sad about this set retiring too!

  3. Me loves this…I am so CASEing it!

  4. Thanks for the list of retiring stamps. This card is really cute with the tag!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

