Artistic Avenger

A Recipe for WINNING!

33 Comments

So, I know I’ve been a bad blogger lately and I have no excuses. I could give you reasons why but I won’t.

Today, I’ve been doing a wee bit of baking and just HAD to share this recipe from my friend, Maggie.

Crunch Bars

Graham crackers or saltines

1/2 cup margarine or butter

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 pkg semi-sweet chocolate squares or 1 pkg chocolate chips

1 cup chopped peanuts, walnuts, almonds, cranberries or whatever you’d like!

Preheat oven to 375F. Place crackers in foil-lined cookie sheet.

Place butter and brown sugar in saucepan, cook on medium-high heat until butter is completely melted and mixture is well blended. Bring to a boil and boil for 3 minutes without stirring. Spread over crackers.

Bake 5-7 minutes or until topping is golden brown. Immediately sprinkle with chopped chocolate and let stand for 3-5 minutes or until chocolate is softened. Spread chocolate evenly over ingredients in pan and sprinkle with whatever you choose! Chill and break into pieces.

Where does the winning come in? HERE!

My counter is telling me that I’m almost at 30,000 hits! So, share your favourite holiday treat in your comment (with or without recipe) and I’ll draw a winner on Friday, Nov 30th at 5pm PST! Unless I don’t hit 30,000 by then and I’ll extend till its reached! Good luck and thanks ever so much for all your support!

33 thoughts on “A Recipe for WINNING!

  1. I love to make Bailey’s Irish Cream Fudge! It is so good….and if you eat enough you’ll get the giggles!!

  2. I make those crunch bars but without the nuts, it’s like toffee yummy! I love to make Peanut butter cookies, they have reeces chips in them and are so good! I also love when my mom makes Mexican wedding cake cookies. Those are my favoritest!

  3. I love traditional Chex Party Mix. Not the new stuff at the grocery store, but the home-made kind! Yum πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

  4. Our whole family’s fav holiday treat are those chocolate oranges that you whack! on the counter to break into pieces for eating! YUM-O!!!
    ~Lana B~

  5. Love these crunch bars! I can just taste them know! Congrats on 30,000 hits.
    I love making peanut brittle!
    Thanks for a chance.
    cmeyers@hughes.net

  6. Favorite treat, is pignoli cookies, the dough is made from crushed almonds, they are delicious and unfortunately very expensive to make. Congratulations on your hits, you will easily make 30,000 by Friday.

  7. congratulations on 30k! πŸ™‚

    my favorite holiday treat is peanut brittle.

    thanks for the chance to win!

  8. Congrads on the 30K…WOW! πŸ™‚ Our favorite holiday treat is People Chow. The girls love to make it as well as eat it so it is a win/win situation…. Gotta love those moments since they are so few and far between….LOL
    Thanks for the chance!

  9. I have a friend who makes the best bourban balls. I’m not a bourban fan, but I love these!! Yummo! I hope he brings some to my new years party!! If not, he’s not allowed in! Thanks for the chance to win!

  10. Great blog ! My favorite is sponge candy. I’ve tried making it and failed miserably so I have to buy it to get my holiday fix.
    Claudia
    scfranson@charter.net

  11. I like just about anything with chocolate on it or in it. I hope you didn’t burn anymore sugar today. LOL!

  12. My favorite holiday treat is cherry balls. Just love them!!

  13. I just found a recipe that is very similar to Crunch Bars – it was in an old magazine listing Previous President’s favorite treats – Crunch Bars were President Carters favorite. My favorite is gingerbread cookies.

  14. I am a freak. I dont like sweets, so my fav is a huge bowl of mashed rutabagas. Its what my gramma always had. I kid you not. Dont like sugar at all.

  15. I love the Italian scalletti, deep fried and dipped in honey. The recipe has been in our family for many generations & it’s a treat that we only have at Christmas. I also love the chocolate peanut butter bars I make, sheesh…I could go on and on:) I love this time of year and refuse to diet in December.

  16. I love Hot choclate Fudge or Choclate Brownie any given day.

    thanx for sharing ur lovely crations..!!

  17. I love Krispie Krucnhies… made with peanut butter, rice krispies, marshmallows and white chocolate! YUMMMO!!

  18. I have made those cracker things before….YUM! I like making all sorts of cookies at Christmas, especially Buckeyes (chocolate covered peanut butter ball).
    It is not a sweet, but every Christmas I look forward to a dish called Goetta. My family only makes it at Christmas because it cost about $90 to make and takes about 9 hours with a LOT of contant stirring. We have to take turns stirring it takes so much. Anyway, it is a kind of homemade sausage that you fry in an iron skillet like a pancake. We normally eat it with some toast at breakfast time.

  19. Ooh your recipie is good,i’ve had this already,yummmmmyy!!!
    My favorite recipie is the good old sugar cookies my mom used to make!!! Thanks for a chance at your goodies!!

  20. My favorite is Madelines! I’ve had your cookies before & thought they wer great – a neighbor made them last year but was unwilling to share the recipe, so I thank you! Congrats on the hits.
    NancyS (momsnack)

  21. My grandma and aunts always make poppyseed, apricot, and nut rolls this time of year. Both the big ones and the individual ones. Oh my, they are so good.

  22. Your blog is amazing. I stop by on a daily basis to see what you have been up to. Congrats on hitting a mile stone of hits to your blog. My favorite thing to make for the holiday’s is my oatmeal pie. Thanks for letting me try for some blog candy. Have a blessed day.

  23. I love the Libby’s pumpkin roll!!! It is on the inside label of the Libby’s Pumpkin can. Hmmmm good! Thanks for sharing yours!

  24. My favourite holiday treat has to be Mars bars silce. I have to make double quantities each timeas this is something that it so morish you keep coming back for more and before you know it it is all gone!! the best part is it is so quick and easy to make.

    Congrats on the hits.

    dragonflydreams@bigpond.com.au

  25. Congratulations on your milestone! Thanks for the chance to win! I like taking oysters crackers and mixing with melted butter and dry ranch salad dressing mix. Hugs Kay Mespelt-petking@vcn.com

  26. I love Oreo Ball Cookies, they are like truffles and when you use mint chocolate chips for the coating…….YUMMY!!!!

  27. I love triple chocolate cranberry cookies. They are a cross between a brownie and a cookie.
    YUM

  28. Congrats on 30,000 hits.
    I think that I love the cut out sugar cookies. But man they can be labor intensive.

    Beth F
    boynecitygrl

  29. I LOVE homemade chex party mix… especially with some peanuts thrown in… yummy fatty, salty goodness!

  30. I love making holiday pecan logs. the homemade ones are so much better than the storebought. I also like the “Minnesota muncher” cookies. They have chocolate chipe, toffee bits and pecans in them and make a great treat.

    shutterbug2525″at”gmail.com

  31. I love your blog. You always have such great ideas! I would have to go with english toffee as my favorite holiday treat. Yum! TFS your recipe.

  32. ok I’m making that tomorrow!!! Another great treat follows:

    1 lb of unsalted butter
    1 lb cream cheese
    4 cups flour
    plum jam or jelly
    powdered sugar

    bring butter and cream cheese to room temp.
    add flour and mix in with hands until dough forms a ball. divide into fourths and refrigerate for at least 2 hours. roll out the dough and cut circles with a glass, jelly jar, whatever. put a dollop of jam in the middle of each circle, fold over and seal edges with a fork. Bake for 25 -30 minutes in a preheated 350 degree oven. The jam will leak a bit – it almost can’t be helped. roll the hot cookies in powdered sugar and eat, serve, or (more safely) let cool. These are so addictive. Thankfully, they are too much work to have too many of. they are awesome.

  33. I hope I’m not too late! I’ve been sick this week and behind on my blogging, so I just found this! My mouth is watering just reading that recipe! How can you go wrong with graham crackers, butter, brown sugar and chocolate? πŸ™‚
    My favourite holiday treat has to be homemade pecan butter tarts. I bought all the ingredients yesterday, so I’m ready to start baking this weekend! Thanks for the chance to win!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

