Artistic Avenger

In and Out of the Spotlight

4 Comments

img_3453-medium2.jpg

Spotlighting has to be one of my most favourite techniques. It is quick and easy yet dramatic!

I designed two cards with identical layouts but different colours to show how different these two styles of spotlighting can look. There is one more way to do this and I’ll get one done today to post tomorrow.

The first card on the left uses Mellow moss, Basic Black and Pomegranate cardstock in it’s layers. I’ve stamped the scene from Sleigh Bells Ring in Basic Black onto the Whisper White cardstock and then again on a scrap piece. I punched out a small circle of the scrap-piece-stamped image and coloured it in using some watercolour crayons and my aquapainter. I punched it out the 1 1/4″ circle punch and layered it on a 1 3/8″ black circle. I stamped ‘seasons greetings’ from Many Merry Messages on the bottom and tied on some Moss taffeta ribbon.

The second card (right) uses Ballet Blue, Basic Black and Pomegranate cardstock. I’ve done the top layer the same but I punched out the main image using various circle punches. I stamped the image again on some ballet blue and pomegranate cardstock and layered it behind the image. I finished it off with some double stitched pomegranate ribbon.

These are simple yet effective cards and a great technique! Thanks for looking and have a great day!

4 thoughts on “In and Out of the Spotlight

  1. These are beautiful, I love that spotlight technique.

  2. That technique is soooo cool!!! Gorgeous cards!!

  3. I am glad I visited today! This is really pretty.

  4. Your cards are soooo beautiful. TFS!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

