Artistic Avenger

Yet another challenge and a wee tutorial to boot!

3 Comments

This week’s Limited Supply Challenge was hard – NO RIBBON! But the cards are made for a great cause. Check it out. Here is my creation:

img_3357-small.JPG

I started with a Mellow Moss card base and I mounted a large piece of Groovy Guava on the left. I’d stamped this in guava with the little flowers from Petals & Paisley. Some I dotted in the centre with black and some with white.

I made the faux ruffle in Ruby Red cardstock (see picture tutorial to follow) as I was not allowed to use ANY ribbon. I punched out a tag in Chocolate Chip and mounted my ‘live, laugh & love’ from It’s all Good on that. Lastly, I ran a small strip of chocolate cardstock over the centre of the ruffle.

How to make the ruffle? Here is how!

Start with a strip of cardstock and your bone folder:

img_3348-small.JPG

Run the cardstock between your thumb and the bone folder. Do this a number of times flipping the cardstock over each time.

img_3349-small.JPG

The fibers of the paper will start to separate. Pull the cardstock apart and you have a much easier piece to work with.

img_3350-small.JPG

Then you are going to do small accordian folds to the strip of cardstock.

img_3352-small.JPG

Where ever you’d like this to be on your card, prepare first by putting down a piece of sticky strip. Then you’ll take the paper ruffle and press it onto the sticky strip. You end up with some fun texture and dimension. This is where I put the sticky strip on my card.

img_3353-small.JPG

Then you are going to do small accordian folds to the strip of cardstock, pressing it into the sticky strip.

3 thoughts on “Yet another challenge and a wee tutorial to boot!

  1. Hi Carrie,
    Another fabulous card and tutorial! Thanks!

    Thanks so much for sharing your story on my blog. I will be in prayer for your aunt and your family as you all deal with this disease.

    Blessings to you,
    Shannon

  2. I think you did a wonderful job!!

  3. What a cool idea!! Love that card and hope you are well enough today to enjoy the weather outside AND do some crafting!! 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

