Artistic Avenger

Let’s Get it On, Pam!

5 Comments

img_3159-medium1.jpg
Oh, that sounded bad but I bet it got your attention!

I challenged Pam from A Stamper’s Getaway to make a great card project with her “Wanted” stamp set from Convention. This is a set that, although I love, I have a hard time using.

So, when I set out to do this project this morning, I decided I would not reach for the “normal” stamps I would from this set – those being the large circular shape and the horse. I decided to focus on the small stamps.

I pulled out my River Rock and wanted to go with a soft palette so I added some Mellow Moss and Soft Sky. All the pieces used on this card were scraps so I had to figure out a layout with what I had. Kinda made it hard on myself but that is the purpose of a challenge, right?

I stamped the little stamps in Mellow Moss, Soft Sky, River Rock and added a little Pale Plum. I punched out a few small circles with my 1/4″ and 1/2″ circle punches and added them with dimensionals. I backed it off centre to the Soft Sky.

On the moss piece, I stamped the paisley stamp in Versamark and embossed with clear embossing powder for a tone-on-tone look. The edge was already torn from another project so I just sponged a little ink and that was that.

Lastly, I added some paper piercing along the bottom of the stamped strip. I punched from the inside of the card out so the piercing is “backwards”. I then added my most favourite stamp from All Holidays – the thank you – over the strip in Mellow Moss.

I LOVE the overall feel of the card, the colours, the texture. I’m proud of myself and ready for another challenge! Bring it on, Pam!

5 thoughts on “Let’s Get it On, Pam!

  1. Your are right, it is a great card, love the layout and colors

  2. I just commented on another blog today that I really don’t know what to do with this set! I think I will challenge myself like you did. (Probably need to do that more often!) I love how you softened it up a bit. TFS! ~:-D

  3. I really like the colors you chose and the layout is great! I have a hard time with that dang paisley stamp. I try to stamp a bunch for a background piece and it just doesn’t look random enough…I dunno. Great challenge. I will think about it and challenge you back soon! This was fun!!!

  4. Lovely work, Carrie. Makes me almost like that set … almost!

    Elaine

  5. I love this — you used this set in such a different way then everyone else. So beautiful

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

