Artistic Avenger

Embossing Velvet – a tutorial

3 Comments

I’m busy uploading and organizing my Convention pics so I’ll get those up tomorrow, but in the meantime, here is a little something to pass the time…..

I’ve been planning this one for quite some time. This was something I totally wanted to try but wasn’t sure where to start. You know where? ‘Cause I’m still not sure. Well, I just jumped in and this is what happened…

First, start with the supplies you’d like to use. I only had a dark green (almost Glorious) velvet from a Christmas project so I started with that. I grabbed some Regal Rose, Green Galore and Tempting Turquoise to coordinate. Now, I had originally intended to use Bodacious Bouquet but ended up using Bud Basics…You’ll also need an iron and a water spritzer.

img_2815-mediumc.jpg

Next, you want to cut out your velvet to a bit bigger than the stamp you are using. There are two different trains of thought here. Some will say use a solid stamp and others a line stamp. In my 5 tries, the line stamp worked the best.

You’ll put your iron to a wool setting with low steam now and place the velvet piece so the back is facing you.

img_2816-mediumc.jpg
Now you’ll spritz a couple of times with water:

img_2817-mediumc.jpg

Then, press the iron on top of the stamp/velvet for 20 seconds. Your stamp WILL NOT MELT. But, it will stay hot for quite some time.

img_2818-mediumc.jpg
Then you take the velvet off the stamp and, voila! You can see I tried a few times with a few different stamps until I found one I liked.

img_2819-mediumc.jpg

Now you can complete your card!

img_2820-mediumc.jpg

I used a Regal Rose card base and layered with a piece of Whisper White cardstock. I doodled around the edge (big surprise, huh?). I cut out a circle with my Coluzzle on the white layer and made a second layer with some Tempting Turquoise cardstock (which I again doodled). I wanted something in the inner layer of white so I stamped the outline flower from Bud Basics randomly in Regal Rose, tempting turqouise and Glorious Green. I tied on some ribbon, added an Ice brad and a cute little salutation using my markers.

This was a great and fun project – I don’t know why I waited so long to try this!

3 thoughts on “Embossing Velvet – a tutorial

  1. Love the velvet pressing, it is so elegant.

  2. The velvet pressingt is so elegant, love it

  3. This is so cool! I love it! Now I have to go buy some velvet…

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

