Artistic Avenger

A Special Little Something

5 Comments

CONVENTION UPDATE:  Today was a GREAT DAY! I was feeling a wee bit tired from the Coyote Ugly excursion with some of the SU photographers last night (pics to follow, I PROMISE and have permission from a spouse as well!).

We got to the convention centre early and were pretty close to the front of the line. Dale Fillmore started out the morning talking about the status of the company – he always does a great job. He also spoke about the 2009 SU incentive trip to Hawaii – I’ve got to get a started on earning this one! It looks fantastic.

We had some great demos this morning but none topped Jaron Winder. If you are not a demo or are a demo and have yet to attend an event, this guy ROCKS! He has such fantastic ideas and is a hoot!. After his demo he sang for us all – it was great. Then, he drew a wrist band for a prize and – IT WAS MINE! I won a pack of chipboard as well as a chipboard clipboard! I was SO excited.

We then went off to lunch and afternoon classes. Tonight we had dinner at a fantastic italian restaurant with some other Canandian demos and then we ran through a rainstorm to get back to the hotel to check out all our swaps!

This was a great day and I can’t believe tomorrow is the last day of convention!

Hope all is well as home – Oh, did I mention, that from now on ALL stamp sets in MINI catalogues are going to be DIE CUT?

img_2825-medium1.jpg

This little gem is for a blogging bud, Pam at Stamper’s Getaway. She was hoping to get a blogger’s swap going but it just ended up being us so we decided to swap 3D projects. This is what I came up with.

I started with a piece of Kraft cardstock and cut it a la Jan Scholl’s example. I layered it with some Real Red and Old Olive cardstock and some of the fantastic Dashing designer paper. I added a tag with a sentiment from Many Merry Messages and topped it with some wide grosgrain and a couple of olive brads. Lastly, I stuck a candy cane in the top!

Hope you enjoy it Pam!

5 thoughts on “A Special Little Something

  1. This is adorable, love the candy cane in the top

  2. Love the 3D project.

  3. I was just cleaning up my table and found the original template I made for this card and said I gotta make some more using this after I laminate it. I liked this simple folding idea and want to try some others soon. I’m glad you liked my idea and thanks for giving me credit but I got the idea from someone else years ago ( a store example-the store has been gone for like 3 years now) so I CASED it too 🙂

  4. Love love this idea but cannot work out how it is done. Do you just use the length of the card sheet and cut it about four inches wide and then fold up and down and up and down to make the pockets? I was thinking that would make it all too thick? Would love it if you could enlighten me a little more. Many thanks!! Jean

  5. So glad you had fun. I want to ask a question. What does it mean that the sets will be die cut. I don’t understsnd?

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

