Artistic Avenger

I’m here! Convention…day 1

3 Comments

img_2824-medium1.jpg

Well I’m officially at Convention! Yeah! Each day I’m here I’m going to post a different swap I’ve made and I hope to post some pictures of this event as well as update you on some of the happenings so stick close and check back.

This is one of the last swaps I made but one I love almost the most! I was completely done when my up-up-line emailed to say we were having dinner with a group of demonstrators in Alison Solven’s downline (totally name dropping). We should save some swaps for this dinner or make some new ones if we are done. Well I was done so I came up with this!

I started with a Bashful Blue card base. I cut a 1 1/4″ strip of Pomegranate cardstock and layered on some wide Olive grosgrain ribbon. I stamped the ribbon with a salutation from Many Merry Messages in Black craft ink and attached with some glue and a small silver brad using my Crafter’s tool kit. Lastly, I stamped the snowflake from All Through The Year in Bashful Blue, Old Olive and Purely Pomegranate ink and punched them out with my 1 1/4″ square punch. I bent in the corners and adhered them with dimensionals.

I love the simplicity of the card but with the extra punch of stamped ribbon this is sure to be a hit at workshops or stamp-a-stacks.

Okay – now for the Convention Update….it was check in day today and also the Pajama Stamp-A-Rama! We lined up for what seemed like HOURS to get into the Momento Mall where we could purchase some great items, ie. ribbon samplers, magnets, shirts, pjs, etc – all with the Stampin’ Up! logo – fun stuff! I only got a few things, everyone gave me quite the hard time.

Then, we got our Convention bags. These are great blue bags that have a pocket on the side that fit a 12×12 scrapbook page (with a clear window to show it off!). Inside came the Build A Flower accents kit, Wanted stamp set, Happiness Background and Fast and Fun notes (I think that is the name).

After getting our bags and doing a bit of swapping, it was off to SHOPPING! We had a blast! I bought things that were only on sale – really! We also had lunch at a 50s diner, they have FANTASTIC milkshakes.

Then, in the early evening, we toted all our stuff back to the convention centre for the stamp-a-rama! Here we stamped all our make and take projects (WOW) and did lots of swapping! It was a fun filled day and night and we are all getting pretty tired. Tomorrow will be a full day of classes and excitement!

3 thoughts on “I’m here! Convention…day 1

  1. This is great, glad to hear you are have fun, enjoy.

  2. Have a great time!!!!

  3. Love the swap — especially the stamping ON the ribbon. What a great touch. Keep the comments about convention coming — for those of us that are not there!!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

