Artistic Avenger

How I’m making Convention Special – for you!

2 Comments

Well, I’ll be away from July 24 – 29th. What does that mean for you? If you are a current customer or friend of a current customer, if you place a $40 or more order during the time I’m away – I’ll give you FREE shipping! Check out my SU website for more information and my email contact. This special is only good to Canadian customers due to Stampin’ Up! policy.

Okay, enough business, let’s get on to showing you a fun swap I’ve made. I’ve been hiding them from the blog for a while as to not be cased until AFTER they are swapped. But, I’m pretty proud of this little gem….

img_2831-medium1.jpg

I started with an Always Artichoke 6×6 piece of cardstock. I grabbed the remainders of prints designer paper from the Palette O’ Prints special a few months back and made a band across the bottom. I backed this band in Basic Black. I punched a hole in the designer paper with my 1 3/8″ circle punch and used that piece as a guide to stamp a 1 1/4″ circle in the black cardstock. Then I adhered the two together.

Next, I added a small coin envelope behind the other side of the strip/border piece and inserted a little piece of cardstock. I used my Short Order Number set to stamp ‘it’s my first’ and again used my circle punches to make a tab and adhered to the small inserted cardstock piece. I punched a circular notch in the border and set it all into place. I then stamped ‘congratulations’ from Hugs & Wishes in Black craft ink and added a couple of brackets using my rounded tab punch. Here is what I mean….

img_2832-medium1.jpg

One other thing I did…just above the punched out circle, I made a slit in the artichoke cardstock. Through this slit I fed a little ziplock back. It is adhered in full at the back like this….

img_2833-medium1.jpg

This page is great as an ‘I lost my first tooth’ or ‘this is my first haircut’ page as you can keep said tooth or hair in the ziplock and it is highlighted on the front of the page!

Thanks for looking!

2 thoughts on “How I’m making Convention Special – for you!

  1. Definitely casing this so I can get the girls’ first haircut bits out of those mini ziploc bags that come with an extra button on new shirts. Very cool!

    Elaine

  2. What a great idea, this is adorable

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

