Artistic Avenger

My first EVER ATC and the NEW In Colour Chart

7 Comments

img_2787-mediumcopy.jpg

Well, I’m finished my Convention swaps (150 card fronts, 24 3Ds, 24 6×6 pages) and I felt I needed to add just one more thing to my line-up. My friend Brenda is making some ATCs and I got the idea of using these as business cards (putting your business card on the back and this ends up being a sample to give to customers). So, I thought I’d give it a try.

I had a hard time at first as they are SO much smaller than a card front but I persevered. I started with a new In Colour combination found on the Stampin’ Up! site. If you remember last year, they posted a file with a bunch of colour combos. Well, they did it again this year but I don’t think they ever published the fact that they did so, here it is:

New In Colour Combo Chart

TIP: I like to print this out and punch out 3/4″ circles and glue them on for a really great colour combo chart!

So, I started with that and knew I wanted to do a polka dot theme. Almost all my swaps this year use punches cause they are just SO easy to use! So, I started with 3/4″ polka dots on the entire ATC but changed that to just the lower 2/3rds. I used Cameo Coral, Chocolate Chip, Wild Wasabi and Apricot Appeal for my palette. Once the polka dots were done I added some apricot ribbon. I had tied it on the front but decided to leave it flat and adhere to the back of the ATC.

Sorry, I’m rambling a bit, you getting all this?

Then, for my focal point. I knew I had to use my new SU scallop circle punch. So, I punched that out in Wasabi and layered with a 1 3/8″ circle of Cameo Coral. I pulled out my Sweet Shapes stamp set (I rarely use this but wanted to try it out). I inked up the solid butterfly in apricot and the square of dots in coral and kissed them. I then stamped the outline butterfly in chocolate. I punched that out with my 1 1/4″ circle punch. I added a strip of apricot ribbon behind it to make it look like the knot is tied behind it (but its not). Lastly, I stamped “hello” in whisper white craft ink – this is where I’m going to do something a bit different…

I’m still going to use the “hello” salutation but I’m going to emboss in white and use my stamp-a-ma-jig to get it straight! Oh, and I’m going to add another layer to the base.

So, if you are at Convention and swap for this ATC, it’s ME! For those of you who are pros at ATCs, please give me feedback as to what I can do better/different for next time.

7 thoughts on “My first EVER ATC and the NEW In Colour Chart

  1. What a great idea, this is fantastic. Love the idea of glueing on the circles.

  2. Great ATC, circles are the in thing these days. I am sure these will be a hit at convention.

  3. How clever!
    Your business cards will be truly unique!

    Problem: the link to the new color combo chart doesn’t go anywhere 😦

  4. FIXED THE PROBLEM! You can now access the colour chart!

  5. Love the ATC! I may have to make some to trade as well.
    It is looking like you and I are the only ones signed up for the bloggers swap. 😦 I am excited to meet you in person though!!
    Pam

  6. gotya – so you couldn’t resist . I will swap with you at Convention. Glad to see we are friends.

  7. Great ATC! I can’t wait to swap with you (and Brenda of course, who started it all!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

